Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

SOLVED
Reply
chiques
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-15-2012

MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

Message 1 of 5
(1,744 Views)

Hello Community,

I just recieved a new router from Verizon (even though I did not ask for it) but it was nothing but problems from unboxing.

 

My network:

I have about 100FT of ethernet cable from my router to my switch and access point. I have had to use a signal booster in the past but with the current Verizon router (the older MI424-WR Rev E) I do not need one.

 

In summary the new router has poorer ethernet signal integrety and wifi signal performance. Here is a breakdown:

 Actiontec Actiontec
 MI424-WR Rev.EMI424WR Rev.I
NomenclatureOlder Model?Is this an 'I' or '1'?
EthernetCan use with 100 Feet + Ethernet w/o booster & not loose signalLooses ethernet signal after 100 FT of ethernet cable. Booster does not help
WirelessSignal penetrates two structures and can still hold a linkSignal is dead after two structures. No response from wifi

 

I have requested Verizon connect my older router and I'm sending the new one back.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
chiques
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-15-2012

Re: MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

Message 5 of 5
(1,651 Views)

Re:

"

What's marked on your ethernet cables sheating?  Sounds like the cables are not rated for what you are trying to do.

Using CAT 5 or up you should be able to run gigabit speeds with no issues up to 100 meters - 330 feet. If you cable is marked correctly then I would guess that the termination is incorrect, possibly run as straight through.

Look at this article 

http://www.cableorganizer.com/articles/difference-between-T568A-and-T568B.html

and compare your termination to what is in the article to make sure your termination is correct - either one is valid termination.

What kind of signal booster have you been attempting to use on ethernet cable?

"

I thought about doing all of this but it was much easier just to reactivate my old Router-Modem and go on with my day.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

Message 2 of 5
(1,739 Views)

It's possible you received a bum unit. Tried asking verizon for a replacement Rev. I or perhaps one of the newer Greenwave routers?

chiques
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-15-2012

Re: MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

Message 3 of 5
(1,721 Views)

I thought about it being a lemon but the fact that short ethernet cables worked fine made me think twice.

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

Message 4 of 5
(1,707 Views)

What's marked on your ethernet cables sheating?  Sounds like the cables are not rated for what you are trying to do.

Using CAT 5 or up you should be able to run gigabit speeds with no issues up to 100 meters - 330 feet. If you cable is marked correctly then I would guess that the termination is incorrect, possibly run as straight through.

Look at this article 

http://www.cableorganizer.com/articles/difference-between-T568A-and-T568B.html

and compare your termination to what is in the article to make sure your termination is correct - either one is valid termination.

What kind of signal booster have you been attempting to use on ethernet cable?

 

 

 

chiques
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-15-2012

Re: MI424WR Rev.I Very Poor Performance

Message 5 of 5
(1,652 Views)

Re:

"

What's marked on your ethernet cables sheating?  Sounds like the cables are not rated for what you are trying to do.

Using CAT 5 or up you should be able to run gigabit speeds with no issues up to 100 meters - 330 feet. If you cable is marked correctly then I would guess that the termination is incorrect, possibly run as straight through.

Look at this article 

http://www.cableorganizer.com/articles/difference-between-T568A-and-T568B.html

and compare your termination to what is in the article to make sure your termination is correct - either one is valid termination.

What kind of signal booster have you been attempting to use on ethernet cable?

"

I thought about doing all of this but it was much easier just to reactivate my old Router-Modem and go on with my day.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title