Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

SOLVED
Reply
SimonB
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-30-2012

MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

Message 1 of 5
(4,168 Views)

After two weeks of pure frustration with this router, I'd like to hear if my experience is indicative.  At this point, I'm having extreme difficulty logging into the router to even try to do anything. 

 

Yesterday:

1) Login into the router using default login and password.

2) Go to wireless settings >> Advanced settings >> WMM settings

3) After clicking WMM settings, it displays the login page again.  Try logging into the router using default login and password, it displays the login page again with "login temporarily disabled due to too many unsuccessful login attempts" (roughly).    

4) Can't do anything at this point, so I ignored the router for the rest of the day

 

Today: 

1) Login into the router using default login and passowrd

2) Go to wireless settings >> Advanced settings >> WMM settings

3) WMM settings page comes up, I deactivate everything and hit "Apply"

4) After the "apply" wait screen,  it displays the login page again.  Try logging into the router using default login and password,  it displays the login page again with"login disabled due to too many unsuccessful login attempts."  

5) Can't do anything at this point, so I left for work because that is less frustrating.

 

I've seen some people have problems with the router, it seems like something must be defective.  It makes no sense that a router would properly function like this.  And everything seems to be working okay except I can't login into the router to get it configured.  (Not entirely true, it seems like DNS goes down every 15 minutes or so).  

 

Does anybody have any idea?  Suggestions?  I might try hardwiring my laptop tonight to see if I can get is configured.  

 

Thx,

Simon

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SimonB
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-30-2012

Re: MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

Message 5 of 5
(4,019 Views)

@JOSEm441 wrote:

Try going to advanced - user settings- and create another user account with administrator rights and use it to login and test.. If the issue persists I agree, with your premise and request VZ to send you a new router.

BTW what does WMM stand for I do not see that option when I login to my Rev I ?


WMM is basically a Quality of Service (QoS) for wireless.  In any event, as I'm a FiOS TV subscriber, the tech had hooked up the router with both Ethernet and Coax.  As soon as I removed the Coax, all problems with the router have disappeared.  So I'm able to login and change settings without any issue now.  

 

Weird, from what I understand this is related to the OTP (??) and TV on demand services.  However, I don't even have a TV just yet, its part of the plan.  

 

Thanks for the help,

Simon

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

Message 2 of 5
(4,156 Views)

@SimonB wrote:

 ... it displays the login page again with "login temporarily disabled due to too many unsuccessful login attempts"  ... it displays the login page again with"login disabled due to too many unsuccessful login attempts."  

...


You can reset the number of allowed unsuccessful logins.  Log on to the device, then click on "Advanced."  In the far left column, choose "Users."  In "Login Configuration" set the desired number of unsuccessful logins.

 

Also be sure to either activate, accept, or save all desired changes prior to changing screens or logging off.

SimonB
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-30-2012

Re: MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

Message 3 of 5
(4,135 Views)

@armond_in_nj wrote:

@SimonB wrote:

 ... it displays the login page again with "login temporarily disabled due to too many unsuccessful login attempts"  ... it displays the login page again with"login disabled due to too many unsuccessful login attempts."  

...


You can reset the number of allowed unsuccessful logins.  Log on to the device, then click on "Advanced."  In the far left column, choose "Users."  In "Login Configuration" set the desired number of unsuccessful logins.

 

Also be sure to either activate, accept, or save all desired changes prior to changing screens or logging off.


Thanks for the info, I'll try this out later.  One of the issues was that I was not unsuccessfully logging in though.  For some reason, it was kicking me off after I had successfully logged in. 

 

Simon

JOSEm441
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

Message 4 of 5
(4,091 Views)

Try going to advanced - user settings- and create another user account with administrator rights and use it to login and test.. If the issue persists I agree, with your premise and request VZ to send you a new router.

BTW what does WMM stand for I do not see that option when I login to my Rev I ?

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
SimonB
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-30-2012

Re: MI424WR (rev I?) login problems

Message 5 of 5
(4,020 Views)

@JOSEm441 wrote:

Try going to advanced - user settings- and create another user account with administrator rights and use it to login and test.. If the issue persists I agree, with your premise and request VZ to send you a new router.

BTW what does WMM stand for I do not see that option when I login to my Rev I ?


WMM is basically a Quality of Service (QoS) for wireless.  In any event, as I'm a FiOS TV subscriber, the tech had hooked up the router with both Ethernet and Coax.  As soon as I removed the Coax, all problems with the router have disappeared.  So I'm able to login and change settings without any issue now.  

 

Weird, from what I understand this is related to the OTP (??) and TV on demand services.  However, I don't even have a TV just yet, its part of the plan.  

 

Thanks for the help,

Simon

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title