Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

MOCA Setup

SOLVED
Reply
FiosSupport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

MOCA Setup

Message 1 of 5
(14,050 Views)

Hey

 

I am new to the MOCA concept. I have a FIOS Quantum Router connected to a coax port in one of the room. Also every other room in the house has a coax port. Is it possible to use the coax ports in other rooms to get internet connection instead of hard wiring those rooms for ethernet? Is yes, please provide guidance on as to what all I need to have and how to make the required connections. Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: MOCA Setup

Message 5 of 5
(13,440 Views)

OP should close this thread and refer it to the other one he opened on the same subject

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/Fios-Network-Extender/td-p/820035

 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
GuardianHope
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-25-2015

Re: MOCA Setup

Message 2 of 5
(14,037 Views)

@FiosSupport wrote:

Hey

 

I am new to the MOCA concept. I have a FIOS Quantum Router connected to a coax port in one of the room. Also every other room in the house has a coax port. Is it possible to use the coax ports in other rooms to get internet connection instead of hard wiring those rooms for ethernet? Is yes, please provide guidance on as to what all I need to have and how to make the required connections. Thanks in advance.


If you would like to use Coax to carry your internet throughout your home you'll need the "FiOS Network Extender." You can buy them directly from Verizon (they are suprisingly fairly priced - on part with Amazon) or look for a MoCA to Ethernet Bridge on Amazon.

 

It's pretty plug and play after that. 

 

If you have an STB in a location where you would also like to bring internet to you will need a splitter. Buy one that's MoCA 2.0 compatible or can do 3GHz. This ensures compatibility with the VZ service. The FiOS Network Extender comes with a splitter.

 

Finally, depending on how many devices you want to plug in, you'll need an ethernet switch but those are super cheap to buy.

 

I am guessing you just want to hardwire everything. Otherwise I'd ask "why not use the WiFi or if the range is horrible, buy a nice $200 ASUS or Netgear WiFi AC router and put it in AP mode?"

FiosSupport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

Re: MOCA Setup

Message 3 of 5
(13,505 Views)

Thanks for your advise.

 

I did bought Fios Network Extender and plugged it into one of the coax port in my basement, wiht the main Fios Quantum Gateway Router on the upper level. It seems like the wireless green lights do turn on but not the Coax green light. Any suggestions? Do I need to enable some setting on my Fios Quantum Gateway Router?

 

Also, if the main Fios Quantum Gateway router has wireless network name - "Wireless A" and the Fios Network Extender comes with network as "Wireless B" (from the label on the equipment), do I need to connect to "Wireless A" or "Wireless B" to use the Extender? Right now, I can see both networks listed on the wireless networks. I think the instructions suggest connecting to main Fios Quantum Gateway Router wireless  connection - "Wireless A" but like to confrim that as well.

 

Thanks

TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: MOCA Setup

Message 4 of 5
(13,463 Views)

Here are some good reference sources for you

 

    •  

Fios Network Extender (WCB6200Q) FAQs

 

http://www.verizon.com/support/smallbusiness/Internet/FiosInternet/Networking/wcb6200q-faqs.htm?pos=...

 

INSTALLING THE Fios Network Extender

http://www.verizon.com/supportresources/pdf/8059_VER_WIFI_EXTENDER_QSG_final%20version.pdf

 

Model FiOS-G1100   FiOS Quantum Gateway  User Guide

https://www.verizon.com/supportresources/pdf/VerizonBHR4_UserGuide_01_07_2016.pdf

SEE PAGEs  10 – 11

                     81- 90

 

Tom
Router G3100,Mini IPC 4100,YAMAHA ATS 1080,VMS 4100, iPad2 WiFi ,,iPhone SE
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: MOCA Setup

Message 5 of 5
(13,441 Views)

OP should close this thread and refer it to the other one he opened on the same subject

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/Fios-Network-Extender/td-p/820035

 

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title