Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-12-2010

Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 1 of 7
(4,133 Views)

I use Fios internet through my Actiontec router and my son is playing Xbox 360 live constantly...he is complaining that the internet signal is cutting out (his room is upstairs).

 

If I don't want to run a cable upstairs, what are some of my internet expander/booster options..

 

I have tried Belkin and Linksys products to solve tis, but they don't seem compatible with the Actiontec Router AND our 3 Macs

(we are a no PC family...)  The software for install always seems to be Windows based...

 

Thanks for any suggestions you could throw my way!

 

Erin

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 2 of 7
(4,122 Views)

The wireless expanders aren't "windows based" although they may use a Windows tool to do the initial configuration.  Most, if not all, also have a web based interface for configuration.   You would put the expander half-way between the router and the Xbox, not next to the Xbox.

 

However ... I would perhaps take a different approach than wireless altogether.

 

Do you have FiOS TV in the room with the Xbox?  If so, get a MoCA adapter -- ActionTec HME2200 -- will do the trick.  This will extend your Internet connection upstairs over the Coax which is already supplying the TV.  One side of the box is Coax (which you connect to the same cable as the TV box via a splitter) and the other is an Ethernet cable which you attach directly to the Xbox.

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 3 of 7
(4,120 Views)

well instead of a range expander, you may want to try an "Ethernet over Power" system. When these work, its not quite as good as direct wire, but its generally better than wireless.

 

just go to google and run a search for Ethernet over Power and you will find many links. And for a gaming system, this may be the answer your looking for




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 4 of 7
(4,076 Views)

Yes ... Ethernet over Powerline is good too ... BUT ... you must make sure that the outlet near where your router is located and into which you plug the head end of the network repeater and the outlet in the room where the Xbox is locate are either on the same circuit (unlikely) or at least on the same phase (50/50 chance) -- depending on your breaker box, you might be able to tell this by looking at the breakers which service each of the two outlets you're considering (in typical single height breaker installations, every other breaker is usually on the same phase).

 

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 5 of 7
(4,038 Views)

@lasagna wrote:

Yes ... Ethernet over Powerline is good too ... BUT ... you must make sure that the outlet near where your router is located and into which you plug the head end of the network repeater and the outlet in the room where the Xbox is locate are either on the same circuit (unlikely) or at least on the same phase (50/50 chance) -- depending on your breaker box, you might be able to tell this by looking at the breakers which service each of the two outlets you're considering (in typical single height breaker installations, every other breaker is usually on the same phase).

 

 

 


Never heard anything good about them, probably because of what your description above just said.  Typically way above the head of a normal home/appt owner who only has a fuzzy idea of where there breaker box might be and what each individual breaker acyually controls.
Also the thruput typically sucks worse as much as wireless.

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 6 of 7
(4,023 Views)

Yeah ... I don't care much for the powerline stuff either although the newer stuff is supposed to more stable.   I am however a big fan of the MoCA converters -- work like a champ.

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-12-2010

Re: Mac users! Can I get a wireless range expander that isn't windows based?

Message 7 of 7
(4,014 Views)

Actiontec has what you're looking for. Look under the column for home networking.

http://www.actiontec.com/prod_page.php

 

The Actiontec powerline products work well with their router.   Its your best bet.

 

The other option is to connect a 2nd Actiontec router with routing disabled to your coax elsewhere.  It'll become a slave 4-point switch to your 1st router and a 2nd wireless access point. 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.