Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

SOLVED
Reply
oldguy69
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-07-2012

Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 1 of 9
(2,046 Views)

I'm currently using a MI424-WR Rev F router and I'm getting ready to switch to a Rev I unit.   Does anyone know if I can save the configuration file from the Rev F and then open it in the new Rev I?   If the two config files are compatible it would save me a lot of time getting the new router customized for my setup.

 

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 2 of 9
(2,042 Views)

The config files for the Rev. F and Rev. I are not compatible, and are encrypted to match the router they belong to, so short answer is no I'm afraid. Just take note of what settings you have changed and of any specific firewall rules, port forwarding rules, etc, and copy them into the new router manually.

 

For Wireless, since the Rev. I has Wireless N in it just like the Rev. F you will need to use WPA2 security, and only WPA2-AES at that, keep that in consideration.

 

Also, I know of a few people who might want that Rev. F. Certainly hang onto it or sell it should Verizon no longer want it back.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 2 of 9
(2,043 Views)

The config files for the Rev. F and Rev. I are not compatible, and are encrypted to match the router they belong to, so short answer is no I'm afraid. Just take note of what settings you have changed and of any specific firewall rules, port forwarding rules, etc, and copy them into the new router manually.

 

For Wireless, since the Rev. I has Wireless N in it just like the Rev. F you will need to use WPA2 security, and only WPA2-AES at that, keep that in consideration.

 

Also, I know of a few people who might want that Rev. F. Certainly hang onto it or sell it should Verizon no longer want it back.

View solution in original post

joelw135
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-22-2012

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 3 of 9
(2,039 Views)

How do you get a revision i router I thought they only gave them out to business?

oldguy69
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-07-2012

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 4 of 9
(2,032 Views)

@Smith6612 wrote:

The config files for the Rev. F and Rev. I are not compatible, and are encrypted to match the router they belong to, so short answer is no I'm afraid. Just take note of what settings you have changed and of any specific firewall rules, port forwarding rules, etc, and copy them into the new router manually.

 

For Wireless, since the Rev. I has Wireless N in it just like the Rev. F you will need to use WPA2 security, and only WPA2-AES at that, keep that in consideration.

 

Also, I know of a few people who might want that Rev. F. Certainly hang onto it or sell it should Verizon no longer want it back.


Thanks.  'Tis what I suspected would be the case.   I'll just have to login to the setup page on the F and the new I at the same time and go through all the settings to make sure I have them the same.

 

I own the Rev F router.  Verzion gave me a Rev E model, which I still have on the shelf, and I bought the Rev F on eBay.

 

There really won't be much difference for me between the F and the I, I just felt like tinkering.  Smiley Happy

 

Thanks for the reply.

oldguy69
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-07-2012

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 5 of 9
(2,031 Views)

@joelw135 wrote:

How do you get a revision i router I thought they only gave them out to business?


I bought the Rev I on eBay, as I did the Rev F I'm using now.

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 6 of 9
(2,023 Views)

You're welcome! 🙂

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 7 of 9
(2,016 Views)

@joelw135 wrote:

How do you get a revision i router I thought they only gave them out to business?


Rev. I is now the standard router issued to new customers.

You can also purchase it directly from VZ if you don't want to take your chances on ebay.

https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayProducts

 

bbinnard
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎07-27-2011

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 8 of 9
(1,998 Views)

So if I purchase my own Rev I router becuase I want to get native wireless N support what does this mean:

 

Purchase qualifies for replacement exchange program

 

Will Verizon require me to ship my current router back to them (at my expense?)  Will they give me some sort of credit for my existing router?  Will a tech come to my house to pick up the old router?

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Migrating from Actionec Rev F to Rev I.....

Message 9 of 9
(1,991 Views)

@bbinnard wrote:

So if I purchase my own Rev I router becuase I want to get native wireless N support what does this mean:

 

Purchase qualifies for replacement exchange program

 

Will Verizon require me to ship my current router back to them (at my expense?)  Will they give me some sort of credit for my existing router?  Will a tech come to my house to pick up the old router?


I was told if you purchase the new router, you own it outright. Keep the old router, and if you ever cancel your service, and they want a router returned, you send them theirs. This way you have a backup router being the old one which is theirs. Hopefully you will never need the old router.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.