Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

SOLVED
Reply
hardtoport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2009

Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 1 of 8
(14,330 Views)
I have had a Panasonic webcam working on this router for a year.  Added a second camera and can only view it on the local network, not remotely.  Both are hard-wired. Both have their own unique IP and port.  Both have port forwarding rules setup.  Does this router or Verizon only allow one device like this?  One strange thing I noticed is that there is a DMZ Host entry for the same IP as the first webcam.  According to info on the portforward.com site you cannot have a DMZ entry and port forward rule that are the same.  Yet the original camera has worked fine for a year.  Any thoughts on how to make both cameras accessible remotely on their respective ports? Thanks.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
hardtoport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2009

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 8 of 8
(14,218 Views)
Yes, the port number was added to the URL.  Problem has been solved in a different way.  We re-initialized the 2nd camera and used a setup program to auto-configure the router.  Manually adding a port to the Actiontec would not work.  Then we found a configuration error in the camera software that one Panasonic rep had told me to use.  I can see both cameras remotely now.  Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,070
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 2 of 8
(14,297 Views)
The DMZ is causing the port that you are trying to forward to the second camera to be blocked?

Otherwise - but here are two of my other guess(es):

#1 The ISP is blocking the port for the second camera?

#2 OR it is because the router has a small NAT table?

Source(s):

http://www.verizonfioswiki.com/index.php/Using_Your_Own_Router

And

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16077

All DSLR (dslreports.com) FAQs » Verizon Online FiOS FAQ » Networking » What are the tradeoffs between the various router configurations

PS. I have no idea of how to test for this.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

hardtoport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2009

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 3 of 8
(14,274 Views)
My ISP says they are not blocking anything.  I will remove the DMZ Host IP and see if that works.  Can the NAT table be expanded or is that controlled by Verizon/Actiontec?
Laird
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 4 of 8
(14,277 Views)

1) When you create a DMZ rule and have a port forwarding rule they conflict. 

2) You will want to setup two forwarding rules. One for each respective camera going to a separate port.  Only one device within the home network can use a given port when routing into your router from the internet.

 

hardtoport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2009

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 5 of 8
(14,269 Views)
Thanks for the replies.  I do have two separate port forwarding rules with a different IP and port for each camera.  The DMZ Host setting was either set up by FIOS when they installed or Panasonic told me to do it a year ago when I installed the first camera and I forgot about it.  I am clearing the DMZ rule and will try to access remotely from work tomorrow and see what happens.
hardtoport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2009

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 6 of 8
(14,249 Views)
I disabled the DMZ Host entry and tried to access cameras from work today.  I can see the first camera as usual but not the second.  Back to the drawing board.  Any other suggestions out there?  Thanks.
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,070
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 7 of 8
(14,211 Views)

Let's say that you are forwarding ports 80 and 81, and you use a web browser to view this/these camera(s)

In your web browser, you did add in the port number?

And for example if your IP was 208.74.204.0, so you would enter in

 

 

http://208.74.204.0:81

 

to access the second camera using port 81

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

hardtoport
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2009

Re: Multiple webcams on Actiontec MI424WR

Message 8 of 8
(14,219 Views)
Yes, the port number was added to the URL.  Problem has been solved in a different way.  We re-initialized the 2nd camera and used a setup program to auto-configure the router.  Manually adding a port to the Actiontec would not work.  Then we found a configuration error in the camera software that one Panasonic rep had told me to use.  I can see both cameras remotely now.  Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title