×

Switch Account

NEED HELP! Fios Quantum Gateway Router and XBOX ONE

NEED HELP! Fios Quantum Gateway Router and XBOX ONE

SOLVED
Reply
Copper Contributor toddzillainla
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-12-2015
Message 1 of 6
(15,844 Views)

when i installed the new quantum gateway both my xbox ones nat type turned to strict and moderate, what settings do i need to change so they can both say Nat Type: Open in the CALL OF DUTY ADVANCED WARFARE multiplayer / xbox live / lobby screen

 

thank you

5 REPLIES 5
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 2 of 6
(15,825 Views)

Hi you need to do two things

 

 

Step 1: You have to program the router with port forwarding rules for your xbox one specifically

See instructions here Network Settings on Xbox One - Xbox Support

Step 2: You have to program the router with port forwarding rules for your CoD AW

see instructions here: ports used for Call of Duty games.

 

 

if you're not terribly familiar with port forwarding, then there are some good guides online including some youtube video's.

 

You might not technically find a whole lot on the quantum gateway router specifically, but its identical programming as compared to the Actiontec REV I router

 

 

 

This site has the specific ports that the xbox wants

Getting Configured: A guide to configuring your NAT settings.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,379
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 3 of 6
(15,725 Views)

Log into the Quantum Gateway and look for UPnP settings. Since you have two Xboxes you will want to make sure UPnP is on. Port forwarding is often limited to forwarding for just one console.

Copper Contributor toddzillainla
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-12-2015
Message 4 of 6
(15,630 Views)

i have all the ports forwarded for one, i have the other one set to dmz and upnp is clicked on. which ever xbox turns on first is the one that has open nat on the call of duty advanced warfare multyplayer xbox live lobby screen

 

do i need to buy a router from netgear or asus and just use the fios gateway as a pass through?

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,379
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 5 of 6
(15,560 Views)

This is normal, as you cannot forward a port (automatically or manually) to two devices at once. As long as UPnP is on, the other console should receive moderate NAT which should be more than sufficient for playing games on. You may not be able to be lobby leader, but the games will work.

 

I would also disable DMZ. That defeats the purpose of UPnP.

Copper Contributor toddzillainla
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-12-2015
Message 6 of 6
(15,494 Views)

so theres no way to have them both open at the same time?

 

if both xbox are on at the same time, it takes a bunch of tries before the other one can join and once both xbox are in the same lobby the one that is moderate cant hear half the players and none of the other players can hear the moderate xbox

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.