Need Games for Windows Live help!
Dezinuh

Here's hoping somebody can help me resolve this issue, as it's been driving me crazy for the past 3 weeks...

My FIOS internet connection is fine. I can connect to the web; I can upload and download files; I can connect to Xbox Live with no problems. I can even connect to my wireless network from my laptop. But...

I cannot, for some reason, connect to Games for Windows in any game that supports it. And I'm not talking about playing multiplayer games, either -- I'm talking about simply connecting to the service in any game that supports it -- Gears of War 2, Viva Pinata, Fallout 3... no dice. Whenever I try, it says the Live service is down. It's not -- I've called friends who are connected to the service, and even brought my PC into the office to have my IT guys look at it (I'm a game developer) and connect to it. I called Verizon tech support, and to be honest, they were clueless at best, and downright rude at worst. The things they suggested -- the ports aren't open, the service is down, etc. -- weren't the issue. I made sure of that.

Here's where I think the problem lies. When I look at my network page (in Vista), it says I'm not connected to the Internet --  have the line going to the "globe" (representing the internet) and it has a red X through it. I don't know why -- I obviously am connected. But there's something in the way my network is being set up that makes Games for Windows Live not recognize it.

If anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears.

Thanks!

0 Likes
Re: Need Games for Windows Live help!
Barking_Pumpkin1
Enthusiast - Level 3