Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Need Games for Windows Live help!

Reply
Dezinuh
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-15-2008

Need Games for Windows Live help!

Message 1 of 6
(8,376 Views)

Here's hoping somebody can help me resolve this issue, as it's been driving me crazy for the past 3 weeks...

 

My FIOS internet connection is fine. I can connect to the web; I can upload and download files; I can connect to Xbox Live with no problems. I can even connect to my wireless network from my laptop. But...

 

I cannot, for some reason, connect to Games for Windows in any game that supports it. And I'm not talking about playing multiplayer games, either -- I'm talking about simply connecting to the service in any game that supports it -- Gears of War 2, Viva Pinata, Fallout 3... no dice. Whenever I try, it says the Live service is down. It's not -- I've called friends who are connected to the service, and even brought my PC into the office to have my IT guys look at it (I'm a game developer) and connect to it. I called Verizon tech support, and to be honest, they were clueless at best, and downright rude at worst. The things they suggested -- the ports aren't open, the service is down, etc. -- weren't the issue. I made sure of that.

 

Here's where I think the problem lies. When I look at my network page (in Vista), it says I'm not connected to the Internet --  have the line going to the "globe" (representing the internet) and it has a red X through it. I don't know why -- I obviously am connected. But there's something in the way my network is being set up that makes Games for Windows Live not recognize it.

 

If anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears.

 

Thanks!

 

 

5 REPLIES 5
Barking_Pumpkin
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-15-2008

Re: Need Games for Windows Live help!

Message 2 of 6
(8,360 Views)
This isn't an answer to your question but I get that same issue.  Right now it says that I'm connected to the network locally and when I go to the network page it shows a connection to the router but not to the internet.  However, as you can see, I am connected and replying to the previous writers post.  It's an intermittent problem but I can consistently see it when I'm on my hardwired computer and my wife is on the laptop connecting wirelessly.  Do you think it's neighbors tapping into our network?  I'd be interested to know. 
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,062
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Need Games for Windows Live help!

Message 3 of 6
(8,355 Views)
The actiontech router has a small routing table and other issues, so see as need be http://www.verizonfioswiki.com/index.php/Using_Your_Own_Router

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

va3bells
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-16-2008

Re: Need Games for Windows Live help!

Message 4 of 6
(8,342 Views)
I had a similar issue.  The X in the Vista network was due to firewall settings and/or no specific channel assignment in the router.   I fine tuned the firewall (reviewed every setting) and assigned a dedicated channel in the router and the X went away.  Also the assignment of a specific channel fixed an intermiittment problem in maintaining wireless connectivity from my vista to the router.
Whitestar19
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2009

Re: Need Games for Windows Live help!

Message 5 of 6
(7,899 Views)

I FOUND A SOLUTION!!!  It worked for me!

For XP do the following:

1.) press Start -> Run. Type in CMD and press OK, you'll get a command prompt window.


2.) type " netsh winsock reset " (without the " ) and press enter.


3.) REBOOT YOUR PC


4.) again press Start -> Run. Type in CMD and press OK, you'll get a command prompt window.


5.) type " netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt " (without the ")


6.) REBOOT YOUR PC


7.) Start GTA IV and log into your online account!

Thank the GTAIV community for this one!

http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=381025&st=0&#entry1058726225

Dezinuh
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-15-2008

Re: Need Games for Windows Live help!

Message 6 of 6
(7,699 Views)

Woooohhooooooo!!!

 

Whitestar, you did it! Oh my God, I can't believe it, it worked!!!

 

Dude, i have tried everything! Thank you SO much for posting this! God, I am so psyched -- I posted that original message so long ago, I thought it was a lost cause. I just checked on a fluke -- I never thought I'd actually find an answer!

 

Thanks again!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title