×

Switch Account

Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎09-30-2013

Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 1 of 7
(2,350 Views)

I  got tired of paying $30 a month for two setop boxes and the whole house DVR option so I purchased a Tivo Roamio Plus and a Tivo Mini.

 

I now pay Tivo $12.50 a month plus I rent a cable card for $4.95 from Verizon.   With  the Tivo I have a superior DVR, six tuners  and increased storgage.   What I don't have is access to Verizon's VOD library.

 

Currently I have my net work double NATed behind an Actiontec router.   The only two devices using the DHCP funtion on the Actiontec were the set top boxes.   The  Actiontec also supplied the WAN IP to my outer router.

 

Is there any reason I can't have Verizon enable the Ethernet WAN connection on the OTN and connect it directly to my router and shut the Actiontec down?  (I don't need the guide as Tivo furnishes its own program  guide and VOD isn't available from Verizon using a cable card.)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 4 of 7
(2,269 Views)

@CaptainSTX wrote:

I  got tired of paying $30 a month for two setop boxes and the whole house DVR option so I purchased a Tivo Roamio Plus and a Tivo Mini.

 

I now pay Tivo $12.50 a month plus I rent a cable card for $4.95 from Verizon.   With  the Tivo I have a superior DVR, six tuners  and increased storgage.   What I don't have is access to Verizon's VOD library.

 

Currently I have my net work double NATed behind an Actiontec router.   The only two devices using the DHCP funtion on the Actiontec were the set top boxes.   The  Actiontec also supplied the WAN IP to my outer router.

 

Is there any reason I can't have Verizon enable the Ethernet WAN connection on the OTN and connect it directly to my router and shut the Actiontec down?  (I don't need the guide as Tivo furnishes its own program  guide and VOD isn't available from Verizon using a cable card.)


You are correct that you no longer need the Actiontec router as long as you change over from coax moca to ethernet. at the ONT.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 2 of 7
(2,292 Views)

@CaptainSTX wrote:

I  got tired of paying $30 a month for two setop boxes and the whole house DVR option so I purchased a Tivo Roamio Plus and a Tivo Mini.

 

I now pay Tivo $12.50 a month plus I rent a cable card for $4.95 from Verizon.   With  the Tivo I have a superior DVR, six tuners  and increased storgage.   What I don't have is access to Verizon's VOD library.

 

Currently I have my net work double NATed behind an Actiontec router.   The only two devices using the DHCP funtion on the Actiontec were the set top boxes.   The  Actiontec also supplied the WAN IP to my outer router.

 

Is there any reason I can't have Verizon enable the Ethernet WAN connection on the OTN and connect it directly to my router and shut the Actiontec down?  (I don't need the guide as Tivo furnishes its own program  guide and VOD isn't available from Verizon using a cable card.)


Yes you can do that, however I think you will still need to put the VZ router on the network .  I have mine connected to my gateways netgear router via lan port to the VZ router wan port and added the verizon service pf rules on the VZ router to my netgear router forwarding those ports to the vz router.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 3 of 7
(2,285 Views)

@viafax wrote:

I think you will still need to put the VZ router on the network .  
Why?  If the OP has the ONT provisioned for cat5 and has only cable card devices, there is no need for the Actiontec (except in the case of calling for support). 
 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 4 of 7
(2,270 Views)

@CaptainSTX wrote:

I  got tired of paying $30 a month for two setop boxes and the whole house DVR option so I purchased a Tivo Roamio Plus and a Tivo Mini.

 

I now pay Tivo $12.50 a month plus I rent a cable card for $4.95 from Verizon.   With  the Tivo I have a superior DVR, six tuners  and increased storgage.   What I don't have is access to Verizon's VOD library.

 

Currently I have my net work double NATed behind an Actiontec router.   The only two devices using the DHCP funtion on the Actiontec were the set top boxes.   The  Actiontec also supplied the WAN IP to my outer router.

 

Is there any reason I can't have Verizon enable the Ethernet WAN connection on the OTN and connect it directly to my router and shut the Actiontec down?  (I don't need the guide as Tivo furnishes its own program  guide and VOD isn't available from Verizon using a cable card.)


You are correct that you no longer need the Actiontec router as long as you change over from coax moca to ethernet. at the ONT.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎09-30-2013

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 5 of 7
(2,259 Views)

Thanks for confirming my supposition.

 

Step one will be to change from coaxial connection to Actiontec to Ethernet.  

 

Step two, if no issues I will pull the Actiontec out of my network setup.  No hurry to return the router as I am not paying a monthly rental fee.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 6 of 7
(2,255 Views)

Keep the router, that is the only way Verizon will give you support if you have a problem down the road.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Need for MOCA connectivity with a Cable Card

Message 7 of 7
(2,220 Views)

@Anti-Phish wrote:

@viafax wrote:

I think you will still need to put the VZ router on the network .  
Why?  If the OP has the ONT provisioned for cat5 and has only cable card devices, there is no need for the Actiontec (except in the case of calling for support). 
 

 


Because they won't give you any support without it there.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.