quick menu

Need my own router

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor blessed730
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-23-2019
Message 1 of 9
(887 Views)

I have internet only with 300/300 speed. Can I purchase my own router, and if so, what is the best one to buy. Is connecting my own router difficult? Assistance needed !

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 935
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 2 of 9
(892 Views)

@blessed730 wrote:

I have internet only with 300/300 speed. Can I purchase my own router, and if so, what is the best one to buy. Is connecting my own router difficult? Assistance needed !


Yes you can. Anything dual band 2.4/5 GHz Wireless AC. Make sure you don’t get anything that says “Modem” or ”Docsis”. That is a cable modem and will not work. 

As far as installing it you just need to take the WAN ethernet wire out of you Verizon router and connect it to your new router’s WAN port and go through the setup. Most new router’s have an app you can download to setup on your phone. 

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,421
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 3 of 9
(823 Views)

@blessed730 wrote:

I have internet only with 300/300 speed. Can I purchase my own router, and if so, what is the best one to buy. Is connecting my own router difficult? Assistance needed !


You dont need the verizon router at all. Its a simple eternet cable from the ONT to the WAN port on your customer owned router. Wait for it to get a DHCP from verizon then you should be good to go.

 

return that junk g1100 router back to verizon and get a receipt. Very important to get a receipt.

 

 

Contributor JC-NYC
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-02-2019
Message 4 of 9
(678 Views)

You will still need the Verizon router if you have FiOS TV (for the channel guides) as it needs the MOCA signal over the COAX via the Verizon router.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,421
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 5 of 9
(669 Views)

@JC-NYC wrote:

You will still need the Verizon router if you have FiOS TV (for the channel guides) as it needs the MOCA signal over the COAX via the Verizon router.


Actually no you don’t. With your own router just a MOCA adapter and a splitter is all thats needed.

Contributor skypickle
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2019
Message 6 of 9
(660 Views)

can you elaborate about the adapter and the splitter? Why would i need a splitter?

Contributor skypickle
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2019
Message 7 of 9
(658 Views)

i only have a single coax going in to the G-1100.  would i take that coax to go into the moca adapter and then what? This moca adapter has coax out

 

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013J7O3X0/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B013J7O3X0&pd_rd_w=Ljsmd&pf_...

 

Dont I need an ethernet jack to plug into the wan port of my new router?

Contributor skypickle
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2019
Message 8 of 9
(656 Views)

my mistake, the other side has an ethernet port. So Then I would not need a splitter, just that box?

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,421
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 9 of 9
(616 Views)

@skypickle wrote:

my mistake, the other side has an ethernet port. So Then I would not need a splitter, just that box?


Correct. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios