×

Switch Account

Need my own router

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Need my own router

Message 1 of 9
(1,788 Views)

I have internet only with 300/300 speed. Can I purchase my own router, and if so, what is the best one to buy. Is connecting my own router difficult? Assistance needed !

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,761
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Need my own router

Message 2 of 9
(1,806 Views)

@blessed730 wrote:

I have internet only with 300/300 speed. Can I purchase my own router, and if so, what is the best one to buy. Is connecting my own router difficult? Assistance needed !


Yes you can. Anything dual band 2.4/5 GHz Wireless AC. Make sure you don’t get anything that says “Modem” or ”Docsis”. That is a cable modem and will not work. 

As far as installing it you just need to take the WAN ethernet wire out of you Verizon router and connect it to your new router’s WAN port and go through the setup. Most new router’s have an app you can download to setup on your phone. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,963
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Need my own router

Message 3 of 9
(1,724 Views)

@blessed730 wrote:

I have internet only with 300/300 speed. Can I purchase my own router, and if so, what is the best one to buy. Is connecting my own router difficult? Assistance needed !


You dont need the verizon router at all. Its a simple eternet cable from the ONT to the WAN port on your customer owned router. Wait for it to get a DHCP from verizon then you should be good to go.

 

return that junk g1100 router back to verizon and get a receipt. Very important to get a receipt.

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-02-2019

Re: Need my own router

Message 4 of 9
(1,579 Views)

You will still need the Verizon router if you have FiOS TV (for the channel guides) as it needs the MOCA signal over the COAX via the Verizon router.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,963
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Need my own router

Message 5 of 9
(1,570 Views)

@JC-NYC wrote:

You will still need the Verizon router if you have FiOS TV (for the channel guides) as it needs the MOCA signal over the COAX via the Verizon router.


Actually no you don’t. With your own router just a MOCA adapter and a splitter is all thats needed.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2019

Re: Need my own router

Message 6 of 9
(1,561 Views)

can you elaborate about the adapter and the splitter? Why would i need a splitter?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2019

Re: Need my own router

Message 7 of 9
(1,559 Views)

i only have a single coax going in to the G-1100.  would i take that coax to go into the moca adapter and then what? This moca adapter has coax out

 

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013J7O3X0/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B013J7O3X0&pd_rd_w=Ljsmd&pf_...

 

Dont I need an ethernet jack to plug into the wan port of my new router?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2019

Re: Need my own router

Message 8 of 9
(1,557 Views)

my mistake, the other side has an ethernet port. So Then I would not need a splitter, just that box?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,963
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Need my own router

Message 9 of 9
(1,517 Views)

@skypickle wrote:

my mistake, the other side has an ethernet port. So Then I would not need a splitter, just that box?


Correct. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.