Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

SOLVED
Reply
maortega15
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 11 of 18
(3,299 Views)

@SinCara wrote:

@maortega15 wrote:

@SinCara wrote:

@maortega15 wrote:

Is it possible to get it for free? Good thing I didn't order it. 😛 I almost did, but didn't. 


No, but you can rent it.


Would it be worth it to rent or I should just stick with the current Actiontech Gen 3 I have now?


Depends. Would having dual band benefit you? If you live in an area with a lot of network congestion then it probably will help.

Are you happy with the wifi range on the Actiontec?

Are you getting the speeds you pay for?
Are you on a fast speed tier?

 

I myself ordered it because I have a lot of network congestion where I live so the ac 5 ghz alone is worth it to me.


I currently live in NYC and I currently have the 75/75. 

Keith_Weisshar
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-14-2013

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 12 of 18
(3,089 Views)

I live in New Jersey and don't see the wireless router option in the account.  I currently have the purchased MI424WR Rev. I router from 7/2/2013.  I tried channel 682 on the TV and the pop up dialog has no Router picture but has OK for Learn More.  When I click OK it shows a screen to order a 802.11n Router for $149.99 with Wi-Fi speed of up to 85mbps but has no picture of the router.  This on-screen specification is based on the Advanced FIOS Router from Actiontec.

maortega15
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 13 of 18
(3,080 Views)

 


@Keith_Weisshar wrote:

I live in New Jersey and don't see the wireless router option in the account.  I currently have the purchased MI424WR Rev. I router from 7/2/2013.  I tried channel 682 on the TV and the pop up dialog has no Router picture but has OK for Learn More.  When I click OK it shows a screen to order a 802.11n Router for $149.99 with Wi-Fi speed of up to 85mbps but has no picture of the router.  This on-screen specification is based on the Advanced FIOS Router from Actiontec.


You have to call Verizon and request it since its just brand new just a month old. Some areas don't even offer them yet. 

SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 14 of 18
(3,047 Views)

@Keith_Weisshar wrote:

I live in New Jersey and don't see the wireless router option in the account.  I currently have the purchased MI424WR Rev. I router from 7/2/2013.  I tried channel 682 on the TV and the pop up dialog has no Router picture but has OK for Learn More.  When I click OK it shows a screen to order a 802.11n Router for $149.99 with Wi-Fi speed of up to 85mbps but has no picture of the router.  This on-screen specification is based on the Advanced FIOS Router from Actiontec.


If available in your area (its out in most but not all) you can order it here 

http://campaign.verizon.com/fiosquantumgateway/?CMP=DMC-CVZ_ZZ_ZZ_Z_ZZ_N_X00582

 

If it won't let you order from that link then you have to call to see if you can get it.

Keith_Weisshar
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-14-2013

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 15 of 18
(2,805 Views)

I ordered the FIOS Quantum Gateway G1100 router on 11/13/2014 and it arrived on 11/14/2014.  I then returned MI424WR Rev. I router using the UPS return label that came with the new router.  The Wi-Fi speed was much faster with the new Greenwave router than with the old Actiontec router.  I was getting poor Wi-Fi speeds with the old Actiontec router even though it was 802.11n and it gets worse as I move more than a few feet.

TigerG
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-03-2010

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 16 of 18
(2,793 Views)

Verizon can be strange. I checked the User Manual to see what USB is supported by the router. I could not find this information in the Manual. The two USB ports are enclosed in a blue square. Blue is the color used to denote SuperSpeed USB 3.0. But this could just be a thoughtless coincidence since the Manual seems to be mute.

 

The manual also states that USB storage may be supported by a firmware change sometime in the future. This is the same vague "promise" as in the manual for my MI424WR-GEN3I.

 

Since I have a linksys dual-band router that I use for Wi-Fi, I will not be upgrading to this new FIOS Gateway router. BTW, my several years old linksys router does support USB attached storage and includes a printer server. But it is only 11n dual band not the sexy 11ac. But none of my devices are 11ac. Given all of this I won't spend a nickel on buying or renting the new "high tech" router.

 

Steve

 

 

ksoza
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎01-10-2009

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 17 of 18
(2,695 Views)

Any benefit if curently using an Apple Extreme with the older actiontec for increased wireless speeds.  Besides consolidating intoone device, is the Apple Extreme going to give better wireless perffoamce than the new Gateway Router?

Virtualwatts
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-22-2014

Re: New Fios Gateway Router now available in most areas

Message 18 of 18
(2,623 Views)
I have the gen 3 Rev I, with multiple dvrs, my VOD is broken right now, tech said Verizon was discouraging bridging in favor of new router (guess this is it) and during an onsight fix tech said main reason for new router was to remove STB/DVRs, I'm anxiously awaiting more clarification on that comment. All Ethernet setup?
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title