Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Reply
Rob_O
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2009

New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Message 1 of 6
(6,313 Views)

Please, if anyone can help!!  I just had fios internet installed.  Initially I could not get my file sharing or print servers to work with the router verizon installed.

 

I was able to sort out the file sharing among my network computers by adding the IP address range that the router uses to my Norton firewall.  I still can not get the router to see my two print servers (ethernet wired).  I have no idea how to fix this issue, and I'm sure it has been discussed before, but I can not find a solution.

 

I have two printers connected to my network, one with a Hawking print server and the other with an Axis print server.  Please let me know if there is more info I can provide to help figure out a solution.  The router is Actiontec MI424WR-GEN2.

5 REPLIES 5
Donald_Linbin
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎10-01-2009

Re: New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Message 2 of 6
(6,294 Views)

you need to make sure to change the static addresses on the printers and re-run the initial setup.

Rob_O
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2009

Re: New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Message 3 of 6
(6,240 Views)

Any chance you could give me some guidance?  I've tried  changing the IP address for the printer port under the printer settings and that doesn't seem to work.

Bob_Robertson
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Message 4 of 6
(6,226 Views)

comtact your print server's manufacturer for specific support on their devices

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
Donald_Linbin
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎10-01-2009

Re: New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Message 5 of 6
(6,221 Views)

you have to change the ip on the device with a program, there should have been an install disk with the printers or something that lets you acutally log into the printer to change the settings.

 

Rob_O
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2009

Re: New Fios installation and trouble with print servers

Message 6 of 6
(6,179 Views)

Ok, so I was able to fix this problem without resetting the IP addresses of my printers or print servers.  I tried that and it wouldn't work.  This is what had to be done.

 

First, the default IP addresses that the router was assigning to my computers had to be changed to the IP address that my network was previously using.  The router defaults to 192.xxx.1.x but my network (and print servers) were using 192.xxx.0.x.  By changing the default setting in the router to 192.xxx.0.x and then resetting the IP addresses on each of my computers (ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew) everyone started talking nice again.  Another benefit to doing this is that my Norton Antivirus doesn't need to have a specific range of IP addresses given to it to make it see the network.  It now sees it like it used to without telling it any special exceptions.

 

Thanks for your suggestions.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.