Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

New G3100 Router

SOLVED
Reply
Teegrooving2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-22-2019

New G3100 Router

Message 1 of 50
(54,081 Views)

I am thinking about replacing my Quantum Gateway router with this new route. any issues with this subject router?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 2 of 50
(53,912 Views)

It just came out so not many have it right now. It has wireless AX, supposed to have better range than it's predecessors, SON is also supposed to work better. The MoCA is 2.5 so if you use an extended you will get full speed over the coax. MoCA 2.5 can get a little over 2 gbps. 

View solution in original post

49 REPLIES 49
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 2 of 50
(53,913 Views)

It just came out so not many have it right now. It has wireless AX, supposed to have better range than it's predecessors, SON is also supposed to work better. The MoCA is 2.5 so if you use an extended you will get full speed over the coax. MoCA 2.5 can get a little over 2 gbps. 

View solution in original post

TS2583
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2019

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 3 of 50
(53,548 Views)

Just got mine today, seems pretty good so far.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 4 of 50
(53,527 Views)

How does wireless performance compare to previous router (which did you have)?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Keyzee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-26-2019

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 5 of 50
(53,450 Views)

Hello, could you tell me the range of this new router.  My house is 2400Sq ft. Would the router be able to cover it alone or would I need to add extender.  Thanks

cktech
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-01-2012

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 6 of 50
(53,231 Views)

Does the latest ONT support Moca 2.5? If not, is this even beneficial :/?

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 7 of 50
(53,218 Views)

@cktech wrote:

Does the latest ONT support Moca 2.5? If not, is this even beneficial :/?


The ONT does not support 2.5, so you still need ethernet at the router. It is beneficial because the old extender could only do around 400 mbps on the coax. Now with the new router and extender the call communicate at almost 2.5 gbps over the coax. 

luckiweeman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-27-2019

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 8 of 50
(53,166 Views)

Greetings, all. I just got this router and noticed something with the rear indicator LED lights. when i boot the router, they are lit and indicating connectivity. After about a minute or so all the rear lights turn off. I'm still connected though and everything is fine. I'll reboot the router and lights come on but again, after a minute or so, turn off.  the front light is ok. Does anyone see this on their routers?

Keyzee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-26-2019

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 9 of 50
(53,097 Views)

Hello, did you need to get a extender also. My house is 2400 soft. I trying to figure if the router will cover my house or will I need to purchase a extender also

Rlacrossjr1980
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-28-2019

Re: New G3100 Router

Message 10 of 50
(52,898 Views)

Had my G3100 for 2 weeks, it's a great improvement in speed and range. Is it worth $309 is debatable. I have gigabyte internet and feel the G1100 is good up to 500/500 service. It's installed in basement at ceiling. G1100 I had to install WEB6000q for coverage. G3100 goes all the way without extender, 1300sq home. 5G has great coverage I can get in some locations on second floor. G1100 was like line of sight. First floor I get 500/500 min speed and second floor I get 40/40 min speed. Most are N or AC devices and don't get full speed support. So it's like buy a antique G1100 or G3100 is little ahead of its time. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title