Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-30-2010

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 21 of 33
(4,998 Views)

I ordered it last night and have it today.  Maybe they changed their policy?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,164
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 22 of 33
(4,983 Views)

@c634life wrote:

i have 150/150 i am just waiting for April 30 for fix of billing is big mass to upgrade.


Actually the new pricing is listed on the my Fios app. And online.

so there may be a prorate for the service which is understandable. However some folks have upgraded over the phone and it was knocked down even less as it is claimed at http://www.dslreports.com/Fios 

 

so hang in there. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,164
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 23 of 33
(4,984 Views)

@11D_Universe wrote:

I ordered it last night and have it today.  Maybe they changed their policy?


See my reply to the other poster. It is live now to upgrade. This afternoon I was reading Verizon was emailing customers on 150/150 a free upgrade. So check your account and see what the price is.

 

i ordered it Thursday and it was live on Friday. It was a $20 upgrade for me. I will not complain about that. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-30-2017

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 24 of 33
(4,788 Views)

and sadly it is not in my area ( philly suburbs) and they have no ETA 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2017

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 25 of 33
(4,599 Views)

@zacoman wrote:

and sadly it is not in my area ( philly suburbs) and they have no ETA 


I'm in the philly suburbs and it's available here. I'm in the Northeast though. I'm a couple of blocks near the county line and we have access to the gigabit, although the service went into effect today, but speeds are not up to par. 880/199

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,164
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 26 of 33
(4,591 Views)

@Rokochan wrote:

@zacoman wrote:

and sadly it is not in my area ( philly suburbs) and they have no ETA 


I'm in the philly suburbs and it's available here. I'm in the Northeast though. I'm a couple of blocks near the county line and we have access to the gigabit, although the service went into effect today, but speeds are not up to par. 880/199


I have been told only the speed test from Verizon's servers is what they direct you to test on. It is not a real world speed test. It's closed.

 

going to a site like

beta.speedtest.net 

is what speeds to see in actual real world tests.

 

slow downs etc can and do happen when accessing sites from outside a proprietary system. Many factors affect it. 

 

If you feel it's on Fios end call and have them send out a tech.

 

Good Luck

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-30-2017

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 27 of 33
(4,582 Views)

Do you mind giving me a general idea of the area? Im in Bucks county, Bristol. Everyone around here looks like they have it and when I check fios availability it says its there just not for my account for some reason 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,164
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 28 of 33
(4,563 Views)

@zacoman wrote:

Do you mind giving me a general idea of the area? Im in Bucks county, Bristol. Everyone around here looks like they have it and when I check fios availability it says its there just not for my account for some reason 


The roll out seems to be in stages. Some folks have it showing today and others cannot see the new speed.

 

In some cases the gig speed appears overnight, a few days later etc.

You could call fios and see if they can give you a good rate, or even through chat.

Just be aware the price seems to be lower from the fios online account portal or through the fios app.

 

If you speak or chat you will be upselled to get a Triple or double package.

The rates right now are pretty low for those bundles, but if you just want internet then ask for the price. Keep checking the fios app or web portal with your account.

 

New customers are getting gig speed for $70 plus a $2.50 surcharge so you could cancel and then resign up with another relative or friend on the account.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-30-2017

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 29 of 33
(4,561 Views)

Thats the thing, friends and the family in the area are getting the offer and from what i can see its being offered online in our area, im at 150/150 right now. I'll pay a little more for speed and I think im still even my first 30 days with fios. Its just frustraiting. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,164
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: New Gigabit Plan not available to existing customers

Message 30 of 33
(4,557 Views)

@zacoman wrote:

Thats the thing, friends and the family in the area are getting the offer and from what i can see its being offered online in our area, im at 150/150 right now. I'll pay a little more for speed and I think im still even my first 30 days with fios. Its just frustraiting. 


Verizon fios has a 30 satisfaction gurantee. Call them up say CANCEL service and when the person comes on the phone say you are within the 30 days, and that you want the new gigabyte speed and I am sure fios will assist you.

 

Good Luck

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.