×

Switch Account

New router Ver I cant access router for configuration

New router Ver I cant access router for configuration

Reply
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 1 of 10
(861 Views)

So I am setting up my new Rev I router and after accessing the router through my browser at http://192.168.1.1 it askes for username and password.

 

What was provided doesnt work.

 

The router had a label with the username and password but it isnt being accepted.

remembering this problem when I installed the Rev D router I used "password" for the password, but that didnt work.

 

So the username is :admin

And the password is?

9 REPLIES 9
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 2 of 10
(860 Views)

Login has been temporarily disabled because of too many attempts to login.

Sigh.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 3 of 10
(843 Views)

So after surfing around here I saw that the new procedure is to enter an eight character password printed on a tag on the router. No workie.

Why does this have to be so difficult?

 

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 4 of 10
(828 Views)

try password1

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 5 of 10
(826 Views)

Thanks for the reply, no workie.

 

I wonder what the default is for the number of tries before I get locked out?

 

I remember going through this with my last Verizon router, spent hours and hours trying to do what should take one minute, what in the h*ll is wrong with this company that they cant facilitate something this simple?

 

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 6 of 10
(821 Views)

I too just received a replacement router.  I ended up doing a hard reset (hold the reset with a paperclip) and then used admin as username and password1 for password.

 

Maybe try that?

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 7 of 10
(799 Views)

Is that what you did?

A hard reset worked for you?

 

Were you having problems accessing the routers settings because you couldnt get past the username and password?

 

A "hard reset" like you described to me worked for you?

 

If so was it the combination of the username admin and the password password1?

 

Man I want to pull my hair out!

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 8 of 10
(796 Views)

My bad...my fault, sorry verizon my old eyes though I saw a plus sign, it was a lower case t

 

username is admin, and password is the eight digit code written on the tag on the router.

 

 

 

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 9 of 10
(782 Views)
A bit of inconsistency. Password1 worked for me then again I changed it and the SSID to something of my liking.
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 10 of 10
(756 Views)

Password1 should be a thing of the past.  Its what installers used to set the password to, but they are under instruction to use either the password (if seperate listed on the sticker) or the serial number on the sticker.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.