Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

SOLVED
Reply
Coux
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-19-2018

Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 1 of 8
(6,792 Views)

My coax is on the other side of the room from the quantum gateway.  I'd rather not have to do some crazy routing scheme or move the gateway so that I can use the WCB200Q network extender and MoCA network approach.  What other network extenders have people used? 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 4 of 8
(6,678 Views)

@Coux wrote:

Appologies for not being more clear.  I'll try to explain things better. 

 

I'm looking to extend my wifi signal.  Currently, I have fiber optic service.  Other than the current WCB200Q offering, which utilizes coax, what can I do?  My current router/modem set up is not using the coax at all.  Fiber comes straight from the wall into the modem/router.


Any range extender like this would do. No need for wiring. 

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/wifi-range-extenders/EX6110.aspx

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,984
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 2 of 8
(6,747 Views)

Not sure I understand.

How is router connected to ont?

Is it Ethernet?

Moca by definition runs over coax.

There is not a way to connect coax port of router to coax connection without a cable


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Coux
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-19-2018

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 3 of 8
(6,685 Views)

Appologies for not being more clear.  I'll try to explain things better. 

 

I'm looking to extend my wifi signal.  Currently, I have fiber optic service.  Other than the current WCB200Q offering, which utilizes coax, what can I do?  My current router/modem set up is not using the coax at all.  Fiber comes straight from the wall into the modem/router.

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 4 of 8
(6,679 Views)

@Coux wrote:

Appologies for not being more clear.  I'll try to explain things better. 

 

I'm looking to extend my wifi signal.  Currently, I have fiber optic service.  Other than the current WCB200Q offering, which utilizes coax, what can I do?  My current router/modem set up is not using the coax at all.  Fiber comes straight from the wall into the modem/router.


Any range extender like this would do. No need for wiring. 

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/wifi-range-extenders/EX6110.aspx

View solution in original post

Byraer
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2019

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 5 of 8
(4,883 Views)

I have the same problem i bought the model listed it showed up with a coax input and two ethernet outputs. I have just the quantum router and portable ont with it. The fiber line runs into the ont and a wan cable runs out of the ont into the quantum router with no coax at all. The quantum router has crappy range no antenna and i pay for it monthly. 

Byraer
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2019

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 6 of 8
(4,881 Views)

IF you opted for no cable and just got specifically the internet only package, they give you fiber line running from a new box in basement and a portable ont and the quantum router. The fiber line runs into the ont with a wan cable running out of it into the quantum router.

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 7 of 8
(4,835 Views)

@Byraer wrote:

I have the same problem i bought the model listed it showed up with a coax input and two ethernet outputs. I have just the quantum router and portable ont with it. The fiber line runs into the ont and a wan cable runs out of the ont into the quantum router with no coax at all. The quantum router has crappy range no antenna and i pay for it monthly. 


The extender needs to be connected from the Quantum router with either ethernet or coax. If you have no coax connected to the router then it's not going to work. 

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,006
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Non-Coax/MoCA Fios Network Extender Options

Message 8 of 8
(4,765 Views)

If you don't have TV service, it's easy to use any router you want.  Just get a router you like and plug it into the Ethernet WAN cable from the ONT.  You can then return the rented Verizon router.

 

Know that Verizon won't provide support past the ONT, but it's unlikely you'll ever have a problem.

 

Good Luck.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title