×

Switch Account

Not getting advertised speeds on fios

Not getting advertised speeds on fios

Reply
Contributor dbinshal93
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2014
Message 1 of 6
(1,162 Views)

I just recently got FIOS yesterday. I have been extremely disappointed with the service. I have 75/75 MB but I am only getting 25-30 MB download and 30 Upload.

5 REPLIES 5
Contributor dbinshal93
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2014
Message 2 of 6
(1,159 Views)

Speed_Test_By_Verizon_-_2014-09-05_01.17.46.png

Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 3 of 6
(1,132 Views)

Unfortuantely, it takes a while before your fellow users here can see the attachment you posted. That hasn't happened yet.

 

In the mean time,  I assume you're testing your speeds via the Verizon speed test, or www.speedtest.net, but are you running the tests on a PC or Mac connected to your router by Ethernet cable or WiFi?

 

WiFi can have its own set of problems and to see whether or not you're getting the speeds you're paying for you need to run the test on a computer hard wired to your router.

Contributor dbinshal93
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2014
Message 4 of 6
(1,098 Views)

Yeah I am using speedtest by verizon on my mac. However, I have other devices that measure speed and I also do not get the advertised speed. It is really frustrating because the speeds vary. I just tested now and had 7mbps upload.

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 5 of 6
(1,088 Views)

@dbinshal93 wrote:

Yeah I am using speedtest by verizon on my mac. However, I have other devices that measure speed and I also do not get the advertised speed. It is really frustrating because the speeds vary. I just tested now and had 7mbps upload.


Are you testing while connected to the routher via an ethernet cable or via Wifi?

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 6 of 6
(1,087 Views)

Looks like you might be running wireless?  are you wireless?

 

If so try to connect an Ethernet cable and test. if you're testing that bad while connected via Ethernet then definitely call in for help.  Also there are some links right there on the right hand side after your test.  Try to run the fios optimizer on any windows machines, and or click the NDT and copy and paste those results here.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.