×

Switch Account

ONT > Vz Home Router > LS WRT1900 setup

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2020

ONT > Vz Home Router > LS WRT1900 setup

Message 1 of 3
(264 Views)

Just upgraded to Vz Home Router from Quantum Router. My setup is from the ONT to the VZ Home Router WAN. I have connected LS Wrt1900 to a LAN port on the Home Router. I  have WiFi setup on the Vz Home Router and a second WiFi on the WRT1900, so that I am running 2 separate WiFi networks. I have setup WPS on both routers. 

My question is; how secure are both networks and is there any special setup I may have missed?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: ONT > Vz Home Router > LS WRT1900 setup

Message 3 of 3
(217 Views)

Generally, if you're using another router to act as an access point to cover weak spots, and you don't want it to be a separate physical network all together (in the sense that you want all devices can see each other), you'll want to make sure the Linksys router is put into Bridge Mode or Access Point mode.

 

If it has Access Point mode, the router handles disabling all router related services, and you'd make a connection from the LAN port on the FiOS or Primary router, to the Internet or WAN port on the router being set to access point mode.

 

For routers which do not have a bridge mode or access point mode, there are some extra steps. For example, you'll need to disable DHCP on the secondary router. You'll also want to disable UPnP, and give the secondary router an IP address in the same subnet as your primary router's LAN network so you can easily manage it, but give it an IP address that isn't going to be issued out by DHCP. With this setup, you would make an Ethernet connection from the LAN port on the FiOS or Primary router, to a LAN port on the secondary router being used for additional coverage.

 

This is all important if you plan to connect game consoles to the secondary router, or want to be able to access devices on the primary router, and vice versa. I can explain more on the second bridging option I detailed above if you need more info on that.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,854
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: ONT > Vz Home Router > LS WRT1900 setup

Message 2 of 3
(233 Views)

Not really. Just make sure you have the wifi set to WPA2 with a strong password. Also make sure both routers wifi is set to different channels to minimize interference. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: ONT > Vz Home Router > LS WRT1900 setup

Message 3 of 3
(218 Views)

Generally, if you're using another router to act as an access point to cover weak spots, and you don't want it to be a separate physical network all together (in the sense that you want all devices can see each other), you'll want to make sure the Linksys router is put into Bridge Mode or Access Point mode.

 

If it has Access Point mode, the router handles disabling all router related services, and you'd make a connection from the LAN port on the FiOS or Primary router, to the Internet or WAN port on the router being set to access point mode.

 

For routers which do not have a bridge mode or access point mode, there are some extra steps. For example, you'll need to disable DHCP on the secondary router. You'll also want to disable UPnP, and give the secondary router an IP address in the same subnet as your primary router's LAN network so you can easily manage it, but give it an IP address that isn't going to be issued out by DHCP. With this setup, you would make an Ethernet connection from the LAN port on the FiOS or Primary router, to a LAN port on the secondary router being used for additional coverage.

 

This is all important if you plan to connect game consoles to the secondary router, or want to be able to access devices on the primary router, and vice versa. I can explain more on the second bridging option I detailed above if you need more info on that.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.