ONT is located in the basement-coax wireless modem has low connection rate-Direct wiring method?
QuickRick
Enthusiast - Level 2

Dear Forum,

I am just a silly electrician but can do as I'm told. We have the "Fios triple play" with TV, internet and telephone on our bill. We just had this install done and for aesthetics I wanted the ugly ONT inside the basement. We have a weak conductivity signal from the wireless modem to our PC.

Question:  The wireless modem and everything else in the house is off of a coax cable out of the ONT. While I would like to keep the wireless for a laptop in the future, I wonder if I could run a (ethernet)Cat 5 cable directly off of the ONT to our PC and let the wireless modem stay?

• Nim 100
  • Powerline ethernet bridge
  • Ethernet from modem to PC

I would like the shortest run, fast speeds and don't know much about hardware, wire lengths pitfalls etc.

Thanks in advance, 

QuickRick

1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: ONT is located in the basement-coax wireless modem has low connection rate-Direct wiring method?
smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

While you can connect directly to the ONT using an Ethernet cable, you would need to first of all give Verizon a call so that they can switch your Internet connection from Coax WAN to Ethernet WAN. Be aware that when this is done, you *HAVE* to plug the Verizon router into the ONT first via Ethernet so that your program guide information can be downloaded by the Set Top Boxes over the Coaxial link using MoCa, as well as other features such as CallerID and Remote DVR works. Without the Verizon router connected to the Internet some way, you'll lose the features above. If you have your own router and connect it directly to the Internet but use either a NIM100 or the ActionTec, you will still receive Guide data, you just won't have any extended features.