×

Switch Account

ONT model needed for Gigabit service

ONT model needed for Gigabit service

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 1 of 8
(1,128 Views)

Which model(s) of ONT box is needed for Gigabit service. I currently have an ONT model I-211M-L. It is connected to the router via an Ethernet cable. Is this ONT capable of gigbit service? If not, what speed can this model provide.  

 

 

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,404
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 2 of 8
(1,105 Views)

Not a specific answer but hope it helps lead to yours.

 

Inside a Verizon Fios ONT 

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_9bG7m1pdU&feature=emb_rel_pause

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 3 of 8
(1,099 Views)

thanks. That is one of the videos is why I posted. He says he has near gigabit (950) service. I can't fully make out his model number but it looks right.  

Verizon is saying they can not upgrade me because I need a new ONT in my home, and due to COVID-19 they are not sending anyone into homes. I suspect their database has the wrong ONT box listed for me and I have everything I need.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,761
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 4 of 8
(1,088 Views)

Yes that ONT is capable of gigabit. You might have better luck with VZ Direct at dslreports.com or @VerizonSupport via Twitter. Explain you situation to them. If already on ethernet and with that ONT then you don’t need a tech visit or ONT upgrade. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,477
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 5 of 8
(1,062 Views)

If you're using Coax for the WAN connection between your ONT and router, run some Ethernet (CAT5e cable) between your ONT and router instead. Have Verizon Tech support switch your WAN connection to Ethernet. If you do this, getting self install Gigabit should be a  lot easier. Your ONT is already a GPON ONT and is ready for Gigabit.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 6 of 8
(957 Views)

Thanks!  Just posted to VZ Direct @ DSLreports. I noticed several subject lines where others are in a similar situation. At least one customer posted a public success story where VZ did activate the gigabit service and they had the same ONT.  Hoping this works.

 

Thanks Again! 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-21-2020

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 7 of 8
(198 Views)

Hi - did you ever get this solved Consupurch?

 

In the same situation, 9 month old ONT (last summer Verizon replaced the ancient ONT we previously had) and just upgraded to Gigabit speed. 

Getting the run around with an install date of Dec 2 and a promise that I'm a "stacked" appointment and it will be sooner... 

But I am not going to pay $150 for a new ONT when I already have on. And don't see why they can't flip it on now>

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,761
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: ONT model needed for Gigabit service

Message 8 of 8
(180 Views)

@capitalhoo wrote:

Hi - did you ever get this solved Consupurch?

 

In the same situation, 9 month old ONT (last summer Verizon replaced the ancient ONT we previously had) and just upgraded to Gigabit speed. 

Getting the run around with an install date of Dec 2 and a promise that I'm a "stacked" appointment and it will be sooner... 

But I am not going to pay $150 for a new ONT when I already have on. And don't see why they can't flip it on now>



@capitalhoo wrote:

Hi - did you ever get this solved Consupurch?

 

In the same situation, 9 month old ONT (last summer Verizon replaced the ancient ONT we previously had) and just upgraded to Gigabit speed. 

Getting the run around with an install date of Dec 2 and a promise that I'm a "stacked" appointment and it will be sooner... 

But I am not going to pay $150 for a new ONT when I already have on. And don't see why they can't flip it on now>


You can call and have Verizon change the ONT from MoCA to ethernet. Just make sure the ethernet is in place before so you don't lose your internet. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.