One-Way Audio with 3rd Party VoIP phones on Verizon FiOS
coleki
Enthusiast - Level 2

There is an open ticket on this issue... Ticket # {edited for privacy}

I am a technician with a VoIP service provider. Our equipment is plug and play and requires no special considerations in most typical home / small business router configurations.

One of our customers, who is a Verizon FiOS customer in VA, has recently purchased some of our VoIP phones and plugged them in to his network. 100% of his calls, inbound and outbound, are experiencing one-way audio. The customer cannot hear anyone on the line, though the other callers report that they can hear him.

We have logged into the customer's network remotely and verified that our manufacturers configured the phone hardware correctly. Verizon has already replaced his router, even after resetting the previous router to its factory defaults. We are confident that this is not an issue on his local network.

One odd thing that I noticed during testing was that, when doing a tracert to this customer's public IP address, the next-to-last hop consistently shows"No response from host":

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|           [redacted].accessline.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    1 |    3 |    2 |
|           [redacted].accessline.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|         [redacted].accessline.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |    0 |   37 |  197 |    1 |
|          [redacted].accessline.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    1 |    2 |    2 |
|             [redacted].accessline.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    6 |   61 |    2 |