×

Switch Account

Online help and Customer Service

Online help and Customer Service

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor Adam
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 1 of 5
(16,027 Views)

Verizon customer service offends my sensibilities.Disconnects the chat session during transfer.

The lifeline qualifications punish me for being a freelancer. Now I owe back fees! and reconnect fees! Awesome!

The router that came with my FiOS is a joke! only supports WEP security, no gigabit support. Anyone can use it. No firewall.  Like putting cheap tires on a ferrari. Just dumb.  ActionTec MI424WR(superheated deluxe paperweight with blinking LEDs).

Thanks Verizon!!! 

{please keep your posts courteous}

Message Edited by CharlotteS on 10-07-2008 03:44 PM
4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 2 of 5
(16,019 Views)

I can only address one of your complaints: you are incorrect, the ActionTec router fully supports WPA, I use it.

 

Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.5.0
Keller, TX

Contributor Adam
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 3 of 5
(16,016 Views)

This one doesn't, I called verizon and asked them, I guess it's an older model. they told me i would have to purchase another one as this one isn't actually broken, just leaky. I wish you were right! Maybe there's a firmware update somewhere that upgrades security. If you know of a firmware patch, please share it.

Thanks for replying so fast!

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 4 of 5
(16,018 Views)

Slow down. Have you logged into the router, and tried to make changes?

I too am using WPA for my Actiontec router. Here is set-up page text with the choices --

 

(Text from the Advanced Security Settings page of the Wireless Settings tab)
Level 1: Securing your wireless traffic as it transmits through the air.
WEP (Recommended)
WEP + 802.1x (For enterprise networks only)
WPA (Allows you to enable a pre-shared key for a home network or more advanced security for an enterprise network)
WPA2 (An enhanced revision of WPA providing stronger security settings)

 

Each item above has a 'radio dial' selection option.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 5 of 5
(15,821 Views)
ok that's odd but your Firmware should be Current Version: 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.7
and wpa should be in the wireless settings
Message Edited by Techman28 on 10-13-2008 07:10 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.