Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Reply
moulson13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-24-2019

Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Message 1 of 6
(1,352 Views)

Help! I am desperatly trying to open up some ports on my router. However after googing endlessly, call verizon for help and trying everything I know I can not get ports to open on this router. Could someone please provide an idiot (as I obvously am at this point) proof step by step guide on how to open ports on this router. 

 

Thank you. 

5 REPLIES 5
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Message 2 of 6
(1,347 Views)

Can you be more specific?

What exactly are you trying to accomplish?

Not just opening ports, but what function are you trying to achieve?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
moulson13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-24-2019

Re: Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Message 3 of 6
(1,344 Views)

Im looking to open port 8080 for my Plex server and usenet services. 

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Message 4 of 6
(1,331 Views)

You want to open them for inbound access from the internet?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
moulson13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-24-2019

Re: Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Message 5 of 6
(1,276 Views)

Yes. I need port 8080 to be open to the internet. 

 

What I have tried already is going to the router settings -> Firewall -> Portforwarding 

Both to 8080

You can see from the picture below. 

Screen Shot 2019-04-25 at 10.44.03 PM.pngA few things that I dont get is why the machine has one without a :5900 and one does. Secondly when I go to https://canyouseeme.org/ and I check for 8080 it doesnt see the port as open. 

moulson13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-24-2019

Re: Opening ports on Verizon Fios Quantum Gateway

Message 6 of 6
(1,208 Views)

Does anyone have any idea on how to open this port? 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.