Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Reply
BigbirdPhila
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 11 of 17
(1,729 Views)

@viafax999 wrote:
They change the ont setting to output the ethernet signal to the ethernet port and then reboot the ont.

  


 

What's on the fiber optic line *before* they change the output of the ONT to be Ethernet?  When it was coax, what was being transmitted differently from when it was switched over to Ethernet?  , 

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 12 of 17
(1,714 Views)

Nothing is different on the fiber optic.

 

However the ont switches from sending wan signals over the moca (COAX) to wan signals over the ethernet.

matthewhuie
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2015

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 13 of 17
(1,695 Views)
The Ethernet cable is fine. From a packet capture, I'm not getting a DHCPOFFER back from Verizon's end, whenever a request is sent.

Anyone know if additional setup is needed on Verizon's end?

On a side note, does Verizon have any native IPv6 support? If so, how large of a subnet block is assigned to each customer?
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,569
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 14 of 17
(1,683 Views)

No IPv6 support, although it is coming at some point. The smallest Verizon should ever offer is a /64 subnet. Anything smaller than that breaks all sorts of stuff, and makes the transition to IPv6 a bit more messy.

 

Verizon doesn't send a DHCPOFFER until the DHCP Lease has expired. This can take a few hours of leaving the ONT running with the router powered down. When you change from Coax to Ethernet, the MAC Address changes.  I assume you've tried this already, but leave the router off while you're out and about, then turn it on.

 

If you don't want to a wait a few hours, ask Verizon FSC to release your DHCP Lease. This should fix the problem you're having.

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 15 of 17
(1,659 Views)

@matthewhuie wrote:
The Ethernet cable is fine. From a packet capture, I'm not getting a DHCPOFFER back from Verizon's end, whenever a request is sent.

Anyone know if additional setup is needed on Verizon's end?

On a side note, does Verizon have any native IPv6 support? If so, how large of a subnet block is assigned to each customer?

Does your packet capture show anything arriving via the ethernet port?

Did you try connecting another device, other than the router, to the ethernet port?

matthewhuie
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2015

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 16 of 17
(1,619 Views)

I can see some broadcast frames coming through Ethernet, but that's about it.  I've tried different devices, but no luck.

 

Does Verizon do any sort of port sticky or DHCP MAC address sticky?  I've read articles about people needing to clone a MAC address of a previously connected modem/router (whether it be Verizon-branded or third-party).  Since I haven't had any previous equipment connected, how can I get Verizon to authorize my device?

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Ordering FiOS Internet with own equipment and ONT Ethernet enabled

Message 17 of 17
(1,609 Views)

@matthewhuie wrote:

I can see some broadcast frames coming through Ethernet, but that's about it.  I've tried different devices, but no luck.

 

Does Verizon do any sort of port sticky or DHCP MAC address sticky?  I've read articles about people needing to clone a MAC address of a previously connected modem/router (whether it be Verizon-branded or third-party).  Since I haven't had any previous equipment connected, how can I get Verizon to authorize my device?


At this point I would believe you need to contact support.  As you've never had a device connected there is no issue with stuck dhcp assignments.  There is nothing that Verizon has to do once they have enabled the ONT ethernet port correctly.  It would seem that you have a defective ONT or they didn't activate the ethernet port correctly.  Either way tech support should be the people to analyze that

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title