quick menu

Own Router (pfSense) - Internet disconnects every 2 hrs

Own Router (pfSense) - Internet disconnects every 2 hrs

Reply
Contributor fragmentedb
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-15-2018
Message 1 of 7
(369 Views)

I recently had FiOS Internet (only) installed, I have my pfSense box connected directly to the ONT. I never connected a Verzion provided router.

However, every 2 hours I have to manually release and renew my DHCP lease on the WAN.

What are the DHCP client settings that I need for the connection to remain stable?

Do I have to just call customer support and have a tech manually release my dhcp lease on their end?

 

6 REPLIES
Bronze Contributor II Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 553
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 2 of 7
(360 Views)

Having them do it on the back end would be the same as you manually doing it. You could try calling  them. Do you have a spare router to try out to see if it still happens? That will save alot of headaches rather then having to call in.

You will at least be able to know if its the Pf Sense or on Verizon's side. 

Highlighted
MVP JustinG MVP
MVP
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎07-29-2015
Message 3 of 7
(294 Views)

Hello!

 

I'm on a similar setup, Verizon internet direct from ONT to pFsense router. I've run this setup now for roughly 4 years, perhapse we can share configs. As you never connected a Verizon router, that luckily crosses one troubleshooting stepe off the list.

 

When this occurs, can you share your pfSense DHCP logs? You would find this in the web UI by going to Status > System Logs > DHCP. This will give us some insight into whats going on.

 

I know in the past Verizon has set my DHCP lease time very low, and it was enough for pfSense to not renew correctly before binding back to the old address (thus disconnecting me). This cleared up for me shortly after, my best guess was Verizon was doing network maintenance locally and temporarily set the DHCP lease times to be short.

 

DHCP Lease times seem to vary in every market, so yours may differ. The DHCP logs will help diagnose this.

Contributor fragmentedb
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-15-2018
Message 4 of 7
(246 Views)
Nov 16 08:17:40 pfSense dhclient: PREINIT
Nov 16 08:17:40 pfSense dhclient: EXPIRE
Nov 16 08:17:40 pfSense dhclient: Deleting old routes
Nov 16 08:17:40 pfSense dhclient: PREINIT
Nov 16 08:17:40 pfSense dhclient[8259]: DHCPDISCOVER on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1
Nov 16 08:17:40 pfSense dhclient[8259]: DHCPDISCOVER on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1
Nov 16 08:17:41 pfSense dhclient[8259]: DHCPDISCOVER on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1
Nov 16 08:17:42 pfSense dhclient[8259]: DHCPOFFER from aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 08:17:42 pfSense dhclient: ARPSEND
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: ARPCHECK
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient[8259]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient[8259]: DHCPACK from aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: BOUND
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: Deleting old routes
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: Starting add_new_address()
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: ifconfig igb0 inet aa.aa.aa.xxx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast aa.aa.aa.255 
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: New IP Address (igb0): aa.aa.aa.xxx
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: New Subnet Mask (igb0): 255.255.255.0
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: New Broadcast Address (igb0): aa.aa.aa.255
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: New Routers (igb0): aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: Adding new routes to interface: igb0
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient: Creating resolv.conf
Nov 16 08:17:44 pfSense dhclient[8259]: bound to aa.aa.aa.xxx -- renewal in 3600 seconds.
Nov 16 08:19:24 pfSense dhclient[11606]: connection closed
Nov 16 08:19:24 pfSense dhclient[11606]: exiting.
Nov 16 08:19:28 pfSense dhclient: PREINIT
Nov 16 08:19:28 pfSense dhclient[74365]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
Nov 16 08:19:28 pfSense dhclient[74365]: DHCPACK from aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 08:19:28 pfSense dhclient: REBOOT
Nov 16 08:19:28 pfSense dhclient: Starting add_new_address()
Nov 16 08:19:28 pfSense dhclient: ifconfig igb0 inet aa.aa.aa.xxx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast aa.aa.aa.255 
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: New IP Address (igb0): aa.aa.aa.xxx
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: New Subnet Mask (igb0): 255.255.255.0
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: New Broadcast Address (igb0): aa.aa.aa.255
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: New Routers (igb0): aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: Adding new routes to interface: igb0
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: /sbin/route add default aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient: Creating resolv.conf
Nov 16 08:19:29 pfSense dhclient[74365]: bound to aa.aa.aa.xxx -- renewal in 3600 seconds.
Nov 16 09:19:28 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 09:19:28 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPACK from aa.aa.aa.1
Nov 16 09:19:28 pfSense dhclient: RENEW
Nov 16 09:19:28 pfSense dhclient: Creating resolv.conf
Nov 16 09:19:28 pfSense dhclient[80485]: bound to aa.aa.aa.xxx -- renewal in 3600 seconds.
Nov 16 10:19:28 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:29 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:30 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:31 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:33 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:36 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:40 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:19:51 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:20:22 pfSense dhclient[80485]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to aa.aa.aa.1 port 67
Nov 16 10:20:30 pfSense dhclient[75532]: connection closed
Nov 16 10:20:30 pfSense dhclient[75532]: exiting.
Nov 16 10:20:33 pfSense dhclient: PREINIT
Nov 16 10:20:33 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
Nov 16 10:20:33 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPNAK from bb.bb.bbb.1
Nov 16 10:20:33 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPDISCOVER on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
Nov 16 10:20:35 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPDISCOVER on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
Nov 16 10:20:35 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPOFFER from ccc.c.ccc.1
Nov 16 10:20:35 pfSense dhclient: ARPSEND
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: ARPCHECK
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPREQUEST on igb0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient[16117]: DHCPACK from ccc.c.ccc.1
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: BOUND
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: Starting add_new_address()
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: ifconfig igb0 inet ccc.c.ccc.xxx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast ccc.c.ccc.255 
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: New IP Address (igb0): ccc.c.ccc.xxx
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: New Subnet Mask (igb0): 255.255.255.0
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: New Broadcast Address (igb0): ccc.c.ccc.255
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: New Routers (igb0): ccc.c.ccc.1
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: Adding new routes to interface: igb0
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: /sbin/route add default ccc.c.ccc.1
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient: Creating resolv.conf
Nov 16 10:20:37 pfSense dhclient[16117]: bound to ccc.c.ccc.xxx -- renewal in 3600 seconds.
Contributor fragmentedb
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-15-2018
Message 5 of 7
(262 Views)

https://pastebin.com/JBQnixHQ


I've anonymized the ip addresses.


It seems like when it comes time to renew the lease, the original dhcp server doesn't respond.

Around 10:20 I manually released and renewed the lease, cause I noticed my streaming stopped.

Contributor fragmentedb
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-15-2018
Message 6 of 7
(162 Views)

So i've tried contacting support, they've broken the dhcp lease on their end, and the issue still occurs.

 

recently, i've seen arpwatch log message that says another computer has my ip address on the network.

 

this makes me guess that the dchp servers/relays for the different subnets aren't in sync with the main dhcp server.

 

I'm currently on the  72.80.163.1/24 subnet, but i've also been on the 108.6.6.1/24 and the 96.232.81.1/24 subnets.

 

i think vz is using dhcp relays that arent configured correctly, since pfsense is just using the ISC dhclient

Nov 17 12:25:37 pfSense dhclient: Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.3.6-P1
Nov 17 12:25:37 pfSense dhclient: Copyright 2004-2018 Internet Systems Consortium.
Nov 17 12:25:37 pfSense dhclient: All rights reserved.
Nov 17 12:25:37 pfSense dhclient: For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

based on the dhclient log

 

what seems to always work is manually releasing and then renewing the lease.

 

when that is done the client sends out a `DHCPDISCOVER packet to the broadcast address 255.255.255.255` and then gets a reply from one of the relays.

 

but on some occaisons when the client tries to renew against the server by sending a

`DHCPREQUEST` to the ip address that responded with the `DHCPACK` it timesout, since the server at that address doesn't respond.

 

eventually pfsense tries to do a `DHCPREQUEST` on the broadcast address, but that also timesout.

 

once the lease has fully expired, pfsense does a `DHCPDISCOVER` on the broadcast address, and that works (there was one time where no servers responded, for 8 hrs, and i had to use the online troubleshooter to cause a "reset of the connection to the server")

 

this is getting a bit redicoulous, since I have set this up in two other locations 10013 and 11791 without an issue

Contributor fragmentedb
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-15-2018
Message 7 of 7
(126 Views)

still debugging this issue

 

i just noticed in my logs the following message:

 

arp: ac:1f:6b:__:__:__ is using my IP address 72.80.163.__ on igb0!

 

it is very simiar to my mac address, and starts to ouccur when my lease is about to expire.

 

something is wrong on verizon's end, since they are handing out the ip before it even expires.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
My Fios App

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios