Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Reply
Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 21 of 30
(1,522 Views)

@Hubrisnxs wrote:

your WIN MTR test results kinda show the loss


In the last MTR to OP posted, the OP sent 58 and received 57 packets.

Losing one packet is a function of how MTR counts packets when you terminate the test.

 

When you hit ctrl-C, chances are high that a packet has been sent and MTR is waiting for a response.

The stats reflect this.  I would not worry about 1 dropped packet.

 

 

 

 

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 22 of 30
(1,521 Views)

so are you thinking his problem is at the gateway instead of his router?

pjvent7777
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 23 of 30
(1,517 Views)

I've already replaced the router once...so it seems unlikely that it's the router, unless I managed to get two bad ones.  Of course, stranger things have happened.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 24 of 30
(1,506 Views)

@Hubrisnxs wrote:

so are you thinking his problem is at the gateway instead of his router?


Yes.  The OP is consistently showing high packet loss between his router and the VZ edge router.

 

There is no point is looking at hops past the edge router yet because packet loss reported on those hops will be distorted by the packet loss between his router and the edge router.

 

 

shady64
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-23-2012

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 25 of 30
(1,483 Views)

Has this been fixed?  I'm just wondering because I'm currently going through a very similar issue...its been about a week and I'm located in NY...  I will run a WIN MTR when I get home, just so I can compare....but I've gone from about 7 Mbps down to .25 Mbps down.  Strangely, my upload speed is normal.  Here is a trace route I ran a couple of days ago. 

 

 

Tracert to verizon.net

pjvent7777
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 26 of 30
(1,473 Views)

Not yet...will keep you posted.

arghhhhh
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2012

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 27 of 30
(1,420 Views)

I feel your pain.  Verizon has yet to resolve my packet loss issue.  😞

 

WinMTR Statistics

WinMTR statistics
Host%SentRecvBestAvrgWrstLast
192.168.1.108878870010
L100.PHLAPA-VFTTP-140.verizon-gni.net22476373202311321
G0-6-3-7.PHLAPA-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net23468363212511422
so-9-0-0-0.PHIL-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net27428313213113622
0.xe-3-0-1.XL3.IAD8.ALTER.NET30408288273313528
0.ae3.BR1.IAD8.ALTER.NET31400278283212028
ae-10.r04.asbnva02.us.bb.gin.ntt.net28420303283112029
a184-31-160-29.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com2346836303112128
pjvent7777
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 28 of 30
(1,367 Views)

Here's my latest.  The techs keep telling me that "I have too many devices running on my system" and that "there isn't anything they can do" which seems insane.

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|          Wireless_Broadband_Router.home -    9 |  386 |  354 |    0 |    3 |  350 |    2 |
|   L100.WASHDC-VFTTP-131.verizon-gni.net -   22 |  588 |  463 |    0 |   10 |  398 |    8 |
| G0-12-3-3.WASHDC-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net -   22 |  580 |  458 |    0 |   11 |  123 |   10 |
|  so-7-1-0-0.RES-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net -   23 |  596 |  463 |    0 |   18 |  400 |   10 |
|           0.so-2-0-3.XL4.IAD8.ALTER.NET -   24 |  608 |  463 |    0 |   16 |  399 |   10 |
|       TenGigE0-7-4-0.GW7.IAD8.ALTER.NET -   21 |  579 |  463 |    0 |   12 |  392 |   12 |
|            google-gw.customer.alter.net -   39 |  426 |  264 |    0 |   71 |  429 |   65 |
|                           72.14.238.212 -   40 |  427 |  259 |    0 |   18 |  382 |    9 |
|                           72.14.238.247 -   45 |  381 |  213 |    0 |   11 |   21 |   13 |
|                iad23s07-in-f1.1e100.net -   38 |  430 |  269 |    0 |   14 |  358 |   15 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 29 of 30
(1,350 Views)

Is it normal for you to have near 10% packet loss to your router?

 

You do have some heavy ping times on those vz routers 200+ ms, so maybe you should bypass first line support, do a who is look up on those IP's and then Email the hop admin (normally their NOC Center)

Ralph368
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-08-2014

Re: Packet Loss Issue--Please Help!

Message 30 of 30
(889 Views)

I been having problems with packet loss as many of you have and downloads stopping do to unknown reason.

 

Today I ran a few random website tests with WinMTR, here are my results.

 

Also had a problem connecting to my rented game server, this is the reply I got back from the pres.

 

Spoiler
This is definitely due to the Verizon-Cogent overloaded peering point, which they've been publicly battling about with no end in sight for unfortunate Verizon customers.

I've asked Internap to manually reroute you.

Thanks,
John
Founder/President
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title