Paying more than advertised on website
mkeel09

While I wait "an hour or more" to reach a representative, I guess I'll post in the forum. 

Why am I paying more for a slower plan than is advertised on the Verizon website? It does have a disclaimer at the bottom saying "Limited-time offer for new TV & Internet res. custs. Promo rates via bill credits and increase after promo period." Even if Verizon can use this disclaimer to get away with charging existing customers more, it demonstrates poor treatment of loyal customers. I've been using Verizon Fios for at least 3 years now and they just keep charging me more every year for speeds I don't need. Is there a way I can downgrade back to a 25/25 Mbps plan and pay the appropriate cost for the plan? 

My bill:image

From the Verizon website: https://fios.verizon.com/fios-plans.html 

0 Likes
Re: Paying more than advertised on website
CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

All service providers give new customers better deals than existing.
Same for cable and wireless.

0 Likes
jonjones1
Legend

You see it comes down to if there is competition in your area.

if there is and you can get a faster speed you may see cable as an alternate to Fios.

right now Verizon has no incentive to deal with you as an existing customer.

however if you call in to cable and get say 100/5 which is what is in most markets the Fios retention department may adjust the price for you.

Get the deal in writing and trust no one verbally. 

You may may find that Verizon won’t budge, but with cable there is no fee for their modem (versus the Fios router charge) and they price for internet is no tax or surcharges so if it’s $50,$60 a month you still come out ahead.

CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

I would think most cable companies either charge a monthly rental fee for modem or you can buy your own.

Same for Verizon. Pay a monthly rental or purchase outright.

0 Likes
jonjones1
Legend