Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Phone number for competant tech support?

Reply
danivanov
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2017

Phone number for competant tech support?

Message 1 of 6
(1,040 Views)

Anyone here have a number for tech support where the reps actually have knowledge of networking?

 

My pc game has a spike in latency. I checked the relevant forums and saw others have the issue. The developer reps were responding to the discussion by contacting the internet providers of the users. Nobody in the forum mentioned fios except me, so I doubt they will call on my behalf. So I'll probably have to do it, but I know if I call the general line the fios rep will not know what latency and packets are. 

 

So I'm wondering if any of you were in a similar situation and eventually found a way to bypass the **bleep** representatives.

 

Please don't tell me that is was TechSure is for. Please please don't say that I need to pay extra for intermediate support for a product that costs $2400 a year. 

 

 

5 REPLIES 5
jonjones
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Phone number for competant tech support?

Message 2 of 6
(1,023 Views)

You simply call 1-800-VERIZON and select tech support, not any other department.

 

danivanov
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2017

Re: Phone number for competant tech support?

Message 3 of 6
(999 Views)

I have seen threads that mention that users were able to get ahold of someone in real tech support after going through the phone tree for 2 hours.

 

Like this guy in the link below who was able to get "premium tech support" after talking to a rep for 1.5 hours.

 

I am trying to see if there is a direct line out there so I can bypass the nonsense and get right into it. It would be nice to save a couple hours.

 

https://philip.greenspun.com/blog/2016/12/05/how-do-you-get-to-someone-competent-in-verizon-tech-sup...

jonjones
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Phone number for competant tech support?

Message 4 of 6
(986 Views)

The way support is set up, each level of support be it started at level 1, then exhaust levels 2 & 3, if the problem is not within the repair/help database it won't get to a senior tech.

 

its the way it keeps the higher techs and engineers for other matters.

 

danivanov
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2017

Re: Phone number for competant tech support?

Message 5 of 6
(983 Views)

Is there things I can say to escalate it to a level 3 person? Like a keywords that would facilitate it?

 

Unless if a level 1 can help with routing issues and diagnose a traceroute/WinMtr, but I doubt they can. I do not understand it, but it would help to speak with someone who has done it before.

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,827
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Phone number for competant tech support?

Message 6 of 6
(970 Views)

Try Twitter or the VZDirect forum at https://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzdirect

 

Good Luck.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.