Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

**Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Reply
EddieDro
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-22-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 11 of 18
(1,216 Views)

nothing such as that is listed on the cable, and this particular one is good for 100m before lose apparently, Should I edit any settings either on console or router? 

Seeker1437
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-01-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 12 of 18
(1,206 Views)

Fair enough on the cable ti should say if it's UTP or STP before it shows that is it a cat 6A cable, nontheless. uyou have a good distance then.

Does your Ethernet cable run over any electircal lines and near any TVs?

I think you said you often do Factory resets of your router to try and fix you isses too?

EddieDro
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-22-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 13 of 18
(1,201 Views)

Recently started doing factory resets, but was doing normal power cycles to clear cache's and what not. and no, the way I run my wire it runs into literally 0 interfence from any other electrical or any other power demanding entities. 

Seeker1437
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-01-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 14 of 18
(1,194 Views)

One other thing I could htink of that might help you is actually having your ONT rebooted.

 

Do you know where the BBU/Power Reserve for the ONT is located in your home?

If so you can manually reboot your ONT using that device.

 

Use Verizon | Battery Backup to detemine which one you have.

BBU

You can achieve this by pressing and holding the Alarm Slience button for 10-12 seconds.

 

Power Reserve
You can achieve this by pressing and holding the ONT Reset button for 10-15 seconds.

 

See if this helps any. Typically it is a last resort thing, but sometimes it helps. Another option as well is seeing if you have a different Ethernet cable you can run between the ONT and the router.

EddieDro
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-22-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 15 of 18
(1,190 Views)

The ethernet chord running from the router to the ONT is a brand new cat 5e.. When I get back home from University classes I'll give your solution a try, if it does work many thanks and you'll get ur credit 

EddieDro
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-22-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 16 of 18
(1,188 Views)

OK, SO My BBU is in my basement and my ONT is outside my house

EddieDro
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-22-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 17 of 18
(1,187 Views)

So Should I Reset the BBU as well as the ONT or just the ONT? thank you 

Seeker1437
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-01-2018

Re: **Please Help** Need Help with Connectivity 10 Year Customer

Message 18 of 18
(1,164 Views)

Just the BBU, it will actually reboot the ONT as a result of that action.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title