×

Switch Account

Port Forwarding and DynDNS.org

Port Forwarding and DynDNS.org

Reply
Contributor imthenachoman
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-03-2010
Message 1 of 6
(7,243 Views)

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get DynDNS and Port Forwarding to work on my Actiontec MI424WR (MI-424-WR), Rev E, Firmware 20.10.7, Model Name MI424WR-GEN2.

 

I got the DynDNS thing to work. So when I ping {edited for privacy} I get my public IP.

 

However, now I cannot figure out how to forward port 50234 to port 1234 on one of my computers in the network. Basically I want {edited for privacy} to be directed to 192.168.1.1:1234.

 

Help?

5 REPLIES 5
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 2 of 6
(7,220 Views)

The actiontec routers can not forward to alternate ports like your are trying to do.  The interface can be a little confusing.  I am sure you did something like TCP 50234 -> 1234.  What you have to remember is that requests have a source port and a destination port within the call.  What that above statement is saying is for a request destined to 1234 from the source of 50234 (i.e. . imthenachoman.dyndns.org:1234).  For web browsing the source port is a random port that the OS assigns.  That port forward would only work if the OS happened to use port 50234 as the source port.

 

If you lan machine is listening on port 1234 you would have to forward that port:

TCP Any -> 1234

 

What that is saying that any request destined for 1234 on any source port will get forwarded to the device that you are wanting.  Then your url would then be imthenachoman.dyndns.org:1234

 

A lot of routers behave the same exact way with only the alternate port forwarding available in their professional routers.

Contributor Rogan
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2010
Message 3 of 6
(7,174 Views)

How do you know what port the LAN machine is listening to?  Thanks in advance

 

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 4 of 6
(7,160 Views)

 


@Rogan wrote:

How do you know what port the LAN machine is listening to?  Thanks in advance

 


 

You can use the netstat command form a command prompt. There are a number of switches. I like netstat -a or netstat -?

 

Contributor Rogan
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2010
Message 5 of 6
(7,151 Views)

thanks....

 

have to step out for a few hours.  i will set up the ftp with xlight ftp unless you know of something else i should use.

 

does this look right?

 

[URL=http://img28.imageshack.us/i/fiostcpview.png/][IMG]http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/2026/fiostcpview.png[/IMG][/URL]

 

[IMG]http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/2026/fiostcpview.png[/IMG]

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Message 6 of 6
(7,144 Views)

One other option you may consider is setting up the DMZ address on your router.  What this does is forward any incoming connection, that is not already explicity mapped, to one specific IP address on your internal network.  Of course, if you do this, you had better trust the PC level firewall on your machine.  I use this for one of my machines at home where I do web development work.  I'm able to access the various websites (running on several high-number ports rather than port 80) from anywhere.  I'm also able to use a remote desktop program to take over the computer from anywhere. 

 

And no, I'm defininitely not going to tell you what my dyndns.org name is. Smiley Happy

 

Instructions from Verizon for setting this up are here: http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/FiOSInternet/Networking/Setup/Gaming+Devices/121134.htm

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.