×

Switch Account

Problem with ssl/https pages loading

Problem with ssl/https pages loading

Reply
Copper Contributor krz
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 1 of 13
(7,776 Views)

Hello. I have been having this problem for a few weeks now and it's at the point of it driving me absolutly insane. About 90% of the time if I go to connect to a secure site it will come back with Cannot find server. or Problem loading page (depending on the browser I use).

 

I have tried with IE/FF and both give the same problems.

 

If I wait upwards of 10 minutes eventually it will load. This happens primarily on https/ssl and maybe once in a blue moon on a regular sites. I have changed my MTU to 1500, my TCP RWin to 128480 (20Mbit down) and still not helping. Have disabled my antivirus, same problem, not behind a firewall, did a scan for malware/spyware and nothing. It's starting to upset me now because it's causing me to lose time with work since I have to log in online just to go to work.

 

I'm out of ideas and if anyone has any suggestions it would be appreciated.

 

Also I am using the 4.2.2.1 DNS server as well :\

12 REPLIES 12
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,737
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 2 of 13
(7,750 Views)

Please check the speed of your DNS Servers and the speed of other public DNS Servers.

 

You might do this with the tool that is addressed on

 

http://www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor krz
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 3 of 13
(7,743 Views)

I've checked the DNS servers, that's not an issue. Using ns_bench I get the following..

 

Nameserver              Response Time (ms)
                        min/avg/max/stdev/retries

4.2.2.1                 18.00/20.00/21.00/1.26/0
4.2.2.2                 19.00/20.00/21.00/0.63/0
4.2.2.3                 19.00/19.40/20.00/0.49/0

 

I've had 0 problems before, and have 0 problems on one of my laptops, just this one that wants to keep timing out.

Copper Contributor krz
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 13
(7,708 Views)

I forgot to mention this isn't just https, it's also my mail, some game clients, ssh, and a few other things. If one thing hangs, they all hang.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,737
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 13
(7,635 Views)

I wonder if it has something to deal with the router itself. To be more exact, small/tiny NAT table of the router.

 

As what to do about it / and my source of that info - see as need be, http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16077

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 6 of 13
(7,633 Views)

Why not use the Verizon provided DNS servers?

Copper Contributor krz
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 7 of 13
(7,600 Views)

 

I've tried the NAT table, it hasn't helped.

 

Why don't I use verizons supplied DNS servers? I did, I was using them when this started. This has been going on for a couple of weeks now. Besides that verizons **bleep** search pages with ads all over the place was pissing me off when I went to a bad link, so I figured it was their DNS servers to begin with. Nope. It can't be the DNS servers as it only happens on this PC. It doesn't matter if it's FF/IE, it still happens. I can't connect to incoming or outgoing email servers, but all of my messenger connections stay enabled on trillian, and I experience no problems with being disconnected from my SSH connections or my VPN when connected to it.

 

The problem seems to only be with https and pop3 accounts. It's as if it's locking them out for certain amounts of time. It usually lasts 1-5 minutes but it's enough to screw up my work badly on a daily basis. I even restored windows default RWin/MTU etc... I was still experiencing the same problems with those settings. I've scanned with kaspersky and haven't found anything, and I've used CCleaner, Malwarebytes, Spybot, AdAware, and have done online scans. Whatever is timing me out like this is isolated to just my PC and no others on the network (wired and wireless)

 

Highlighted
Contributor Ahzz
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 8 of 13
(7,580 Views)

I've been having a similar issue randomly for the last couple of weeks. I noticed that verizon's DNS server were sending me to a search engine page. No, I don't have a virus or spyware. I know because a: I scan daily. b: this happens on both windows and Linux machines. I can do a dns lookup and get back an A record for an IP that  shoudln't exist.

 

Interestingly enough, in the last couple of days my router has suddenly started answering for certain IP ranges. For the last 24 hours it has been presenting me with the login page of my router admin panel (normally 192.168.1.1) when I goto my EC2 server at 174.129.208.68 (ec2.terrabox.com)  Even when I enter the IP address directly, the router captures it. Pings, telnets, EVERYTHING. I checked a few more randomly assigned IPs from EC2 and discovered that yes, the router was capturing any connections outbound to those IPs!

 

I reset the router config thinking I had things mucked up. Nope, doesn't work. It's still capturing things.

 

Is verizon playing around with transparent proxying on their actiontec routers in the dallas/ft worth area?

 

I KNOW they have intermitantly played around with DNS lookups for record not found packets. I've yet ot deploy my own DNS server to do direct queries. I'll probably do this soon.

 

I'm beginning to get an uneasy feeling of big brother monkeying with my network! 8-( I can't wait for network neutrality legislation to pass and force every ISP out there to stop monkeying with things. They keep breaking my internet! *sigh*

Contributor Ahzz
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 9 of 13
(7,578 Views)
working now all of a sudden. I changed nothing., I have a script monitoring things to see if it flips around again. DNS is still getting mangled for NOTFOUND replies to A requests.

Call your senators and DEMAND a strong Network Neutrality bill to protect us from these types of intrusinos in our networks!
Copper Contributor krz
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 10 of 13
(7,561 Views)

More strangeness today. I have been trying to log into my works website non-stop and finally decided to try to ping the URL directly instead of the IP. Both of them started to ping the correct IP but 100% packet loss. So I decided to do a tracert on the same url again instead of IP's. That time it resolved to 8.15.7.117 which is not the IP for my work. From a quick google it seems to be said verizon page that has ads placed all over it. Any idea why that would be popping up still? Better yet what could be causing this Smiley Sad

 

It's taking me an hour to do something that should take 10 minutes Smiley Sad

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.