×

Switch Account

Quantum G1100 Router suddenly not keeping 5ghz connections

Quantum G1100 Router suddenly not keeping 5ghz connections

Reply
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-12-2017
Message 71 of 416
(1,318 Views)

Hi all,

I don't want to hijack the thread so if anyone has just a quick answer I'd appreciate it. I am battling the same 5GHz radio issue as you all and I'm trying to go through the logs to try and identify a possible trigger for the radio going down and the log times are always 5hrs off of the real time. The router's system time is correct but the log times are always off. It makes it frustrating to review logs when the times aren't right.  I can obviously adjust for it but I was wondering if anyone knew why.

Thanks

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 72 of 416
(1,304 Views)

@wecoyote5 wrote:

Hi all,

I don't want to hijack the thread so if anyone has just a quick answer I'd appreciate it. I am battling the same 5GHz radio issue as you all and I'm trying to go through the logs to try and identify a possible trigger for the radio going down and the log times are always 5hrs off of the real time. The router's system time is correct but the log times are always off. It makes it frustrating to review logs when the times aren't right.  I can obviously adjust for it but I was wondering if anyone knew why.

Thanks


The logs are probably using Greenwich Mean Time or Zulu Time which is currenlty 5 hours later than Eastern Standard Time.  Many logging systems do this so you don't need to know which timezone the log was created in.

Greenwich Mean Time

Rich

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-09-2017
Message 73 of 416
(1,296 Views)

Is IPv6 enabled for people?  Mine is disabled.  

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,791
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 74 of 416
(1,277 Views)

If you have an android device, try loading an app called wifi analyzer.

If can tell you if the rotuer has quit transmitting or if you just can log into that ssid.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-15-2017
Message 75 of 416
(1,233 Views)

So I spoke to tech support for the 14th time in three weeks. 

 

Pointed this thread and the other one on DSL reports and despite teir 2 support acknowledging that it's more wide spread then they were aware of, they are sending me my 3rd Gateway in 2 weeks.

 

So much for technical support.

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2017
Message 76 of 416
(1,231 Views)

So I wonder what my chances are of getting Verizon to refund me for my router to supplement the cost of buying a new one that works? 

 

They should right?  I mean we buy into it all thinking it's their router we'll be safe right?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-15-2017
Message 77 of 416
(1,229 Views)

You'll still need it if you she TV and phone services.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2017
Message 78 of 416
(1,226 Views)

Yes I know. Well maybe they'll meet us in the middle?  It's only doing half it's job right now. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,882
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 79 of 416
(1,229 Views)

@Simbapenn wrote:

Is IPv6 enabled for people?  Mine is disabled.  


Verizon does not have IPv6 enabled for anyone.

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-15-2017
Message 80 of 416
(1,223 Views)

One of my neighbors has the same issue as us and is trying to get Verizon to acknowledge the issue so they can release them from the contract and they can switch to Xfinity.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.