Router needs Rebooted every other day
JenMarie1313

Hi,

I'm new to Fios and fixing computer stuff in general, so sorry if this is an easy fix. I have the basic internet only fios package and until Christmas the devices I had on the wifi were: my phone and sometimes my partner's, my laptop, a network printer, and an Xbox one (the 360 is rarely ever turned on). For Christmas, my partner got me a smart tv and brought me his switch. That brings the total devices to 8. Ever since then, the router needs Rebooted every other day. My laptop, printer, Xbox, and partner's phone always seem fine. My phone, and more recently the tv, always have issues connecting. They're on the 5G connection. Should I maybe bump some down to the not 5G? Or is it too many devices?

Thank you in advance

0 Likes
Re: Router needs Rebooted every other day
CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

If you look, there are some threads (maybe in tech support forum) about people having issues with 5G wifi.

There are some things to try and make it better.

There is talk about Verizon releasing an update to routers after the first of the year to address this issue.

0 Likes
Re: Quantum G1100 Router suddenly not keeping 5ghz connections
TommRXE
Enthusiast - Level 2

I was hopeful that this was the fix, as it was past one day and still working on 5 GHz. Unfortunately it stopped connecting on 5 GHz again just now after maybe a day and a half. Disappointed this work around didn't fix it. Looks like we will all still have to wait for Verizon to come up with ths permanent fix. By the way, i did check the router to make sure ths CTS was still set on AUTO, and it was. So it's back to 2.4 GHz for me until Verizon provides the REAL permanent fix for us all.

0 Likes
fnostro

For what it's worth...
I had to enable my SSID Broadcast on the 5GHz channel to keep connected. 

Still using WPA2, changing to mixed mode didn't help me.

0 Likes
Jeff-11