×

Switch Account

Quantum G1100 Router suddenly not keeping 5ghz connections

Quantum G1100 Router suddenly not keeping 5ghz connections

Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Message 361 of 416
(1,531 Views)

@steamcarriage wrote:

I have Firmware  02.00.01.07 for a week or so now and the 5G has not gone offline.  I've not needed to reset anything. So fingers are crossed it continues that way.

 


Lucky you!

 

If Verizon posted the lastest firmware at https://www.verizon.com/support/residential/internet/equipment/open-source-software, I would try upgrading the router using http://192.168.1.1/#/advanced/fwupgrade.

 

I keep powering off and on the router every week, hoping that it would check for new firmware and install it, but no joy so far. I am still at 01.04.00.12.

Highlighted
Contributor Jeff-1
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2017
Message 362 of 416
(1,481 Views)

I was not getting the udpate, and could not stand the thought of reconfiguring everything after a reset to (hopefully) trigger the update.

 

So I had an older NetGear N600 setting around. I installed OpenWRT firmware on it, took the MAC from the G1100, and all is well. Even better throughput is up to the point that some webpages load noticeably quicker. That's noticed on pages that are not necessarily large, but have lots of parts.

 

NetGear and OpenWRT for the win!

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,767
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 363 of 416
(1,352 Views)

I got the update today.

Most people should have.

If not, try rebooting router to see if it downloads update.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Message 364 of 416
(1,314 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

I got the update today.

Most people should have.

If not, try rebooting router to see if it downloads update.


nope, no update here.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 365 of 416
(1,312 Views)

@maestro wrote:

@CRobGauth wrote:

I got the update today.

Most people should have.

If not, try rebooting router to see if it downloads update.


nope, no update here.


Me neither (Maryland)

Highlighted
Copper Contributor Downdraft
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-08-2018
Message 366 of 416
(1,223 Views)

No firmware update as yet in Norva-

Firmware Version

01.04.00.12
Highlighted
Contributor CNewt
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-02-2018
Message 367 of 416
(1,182 Views)

No update here in South central PA either.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,861
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 368 of 416
(1,160 Views)

@rich_lux wrote:

@maestro wrote:

@CRobGauth wrote:

I got the update today.

Most people should have.

If not, try rebooting router to see if it downloads update.


nope, no update here.


Me neither (Maryland)


There is no widespread update. Just look over at dsl reports in your own thread and the spin off thread. Branch has stated it is not going out in any sort of order. And some that have received it are saying it did not fix the problem. One poster stated it was just a GUI update so no real update.

Ask yourself this question? Why would it only go out to a certain few? Beta testing?

 

Highlighted
Contributor Jetcraft68
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2017
Message 369 of 416
(1,153 Views)

My 5 GHz AP has been up for over 145 hrs (approx 6 days). Firmware still showing 01.04.00.12. 

My son moved out 6 days ago and I no longer have his TV and PlayStation (and other devices) connecting. 

 

I am sending this via my 5 GHz connection on my Nexus tablet.

Not sure what happened but this is the longest it has been up since December. 

 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Message 370 of 416
(1,134 Views)

@jonjones wrote:

@rich_lux wrote:

@maestro wrote:

@CRobGauth wrote:

I got the update today.

Most people should have.

If not, try rebooting router to see if it downloads update.


nope, no update here.


Me neither (Maryland)


There is no widespread update. Just look over at dsl reports in your own thread and the spin off thread. Branch has stated it is not going out in any sort of order. And some that have received it are saying it did not fix the problem. One poster stated it was just a GUI update so no real update.

Ask yourself this question? Why would it only go out to a certain few? Beta testing?

 


Beta testing on customers? Smiley Very Happy

I hope you are not serious!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.