Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

Message 1 of 5
(23,958 Views)

I have a Quantum Gateway router that has stopped broadcasting the 5.0 network.  The 2.4 still works as before, but I can't get it to send the 5.0 signal.  I've trired a factory reset with no joy.  I suspect I got a bad unit, but I would love to know how to tell for sure (other than the obvious - it does not work). 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

Message 3 of 5
(23,861 Views)

I found that I had to change the channel broadcast from automatic to a specific channel to get the 5.0 network to work.  Once I did that my devices connected immediately.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎01-13-2012

Re: Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

Message 2 of 5
(23,938 Views)

Check the wireless --> advanced security settings. You may have to enable the SSID broadcast for the 5GHz band.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

Message 3 of 5
(23,862 Views)

I found that I had to change the channel broadcast from automatic to a specific channel to get the 5.0 network to work.  Once I did that my devices connected immediately.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎01-13-2012

Re: Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

Message 4 of 5
(23,838 Views)

Cool. My Linksys WRT1900AC is a dual band router but I have just one device, a not-so-smart Samsung PDP, that can use the 5 GHz band.

 

Funny thing the Samsung TV supports both 2.4 & 5 GHz wireless connectivity but once I installed the Linksys router all my 2.4 GHz devices connected to the wireless network just fine, however the Samsung PDP would not connect to the router.

 

Come to find out when using the Linksys router the Samsung PDP will only connect to the 5 GHz band, but with my old Actiontec b/g router (and no Linksys) the TV's wireless worked just fine with the 2.4 GHz band.

 

Wierd.

 

BTW... I have disabled the wireless networking support for the Actiontec router and use it only as a MoCA bridge for FiOS TV IP services.

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10,325
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Quantum Gateway Won't Broadcast 5.0 GHz

Message 5 of 5
(13,303 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.