×

Switch Account

Regarding Fios Quantum Speed

Regarding Fios Quantum Speed

SOLVED
Reply
Copper Contributor Sromy2000
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-24-2010
Message 1 of 11
(11,359 Views)

I hope Someone from Verizon is monitoring the Forum as I'm baffled by the lack of customer service I have been receiving from the Verizon customer support team; my questions is this:

 

Can someone please explain to me, why would Verizon sell me their Quantum fios 75/35 Mbps but at the same time would not send me the router that allows me the ability to take advantage of the speed I'm paying for? I have been a longtime Verizon's customer, one of the first people in my development to get fios when it was available. Verizon tells me I have the pay $80.00 for the 802.1(n) router if I need to take advantage of my 75 Mbps download speed.  Please school me , as for me, it does not make any sense!

10 REPLIES 10
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 2 of 11
(11,296 Views)

@Sromy2000 wrote:

Can someone please explain to me, why would Verizon sell me their Quantum fios 75/35 Mbps but at the same time would not send me the router that allows me the ability to take advantage of the speed I'm paying for? I have been a longtime Verizon's customer, one of the first people in my development to get fios when it was available. Verizon tells me I have the pay $80.00 for the 802.1(n) router if I need to take advantage of my 75 Mbps download speed.  Please school me , as for me, it does not make any sense!


I agree it doesn't make sense that they wouldn't give you the n router.  IMO you should bug them to replace it for free.

 

On a wired conection, you will get the 75Mbps with either router.  Assuming there are no other issues that would slow it down. On a wirelesss connection,  you will not get 75Mbps regardless of which router you have.  But, the n router will give better performance.  On the 75/35 plan my wireless speed with the n routher is about 60% better than with the g router. 

 

 

 

 

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 3 of 11
(11,284 Views)

Also if you have a REV F router, you can get it upto 60 and 65 mb's by enabling WPA2 AES Security. 

 

Do you know what Revision you have?

 

Generally Speaking, Verizon doesn't sell wireless internet speeds, they sell wired internet speeds, and the wireless they don't garuntee.   You will hear that a lot from their reps, and in the fine print of their advertisements. 

 

That being said, you can either continue to invest time on the phone and in chats trying to bug them for a free router, or you can do like most of us and buy your own.  My time is personally worth more than waiting on hold for any amount of time, when there are 20-50 dollar solutions a mouse click away.

 

I would rather buy one myself even if it's a cheap $19.99 TP Link Router that does wireless N and 300 MBs.

 

Remember, the Verizon Wireless N is a single radio 130mb max router.   so for a cheaper price you can get potentially better performance.

 

 

Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Message 4 of 11
(11,103 Views)

@Hubrisnxs wrote:

Also if you have a REV F router, you can get it upto 60 and 65 mb's by enabling WPA2 AES Security. 

 

Do you know what Revision you have?

 

Generally Speaking, Verizon doesn't sell wireless internet speeds, they sell wired internet speeds, and the wireless they don't garuntee.   You will hear that a lot from their reps, and in the fine print of their advertisements. 

 

That being said, you can either continue to invest time on the phone and in chats trying to bug them for a free router, or you can do like most of us and buy your own.  My time is personally worth more than waiting on hold for any amount of time, when there are 20-50 dollar solutions a mouse click away.

 

I would rather buy one myself even if it's a cheap $19.99 TP Link Router that does wireless N and 300 MBs.

 

Remember, the Verizon Wireless N is a single radio 130mb max router.   so for a cheaper price you can get potentially better performance.

 

 


I followed the steps outlined in that link for enabling WAP2 security. 

 

How long should it take to update the settings?  I tried twice last night, once in Chrome and another time in Firefox, and the "please wait while we update your settings page" sat for 30 minutes and 1 hour respectively.

 

I, too, am looking to boot my wireless speed, which saw no increase after upgrading from 25/25 to 50/25.

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 5 of 11
(11,070 Views)

When you make the change, try to do it from a hardwired connection.

 

What you are experiencing is this.

 

You are connected to WEP Security

you log in

you change to WPA2 and it hangs

 

 

the reason why it hangs is because you were disconnected from WEP security and the internet.

You should try to connect again to the new WPA2 settings in about 10 seconds, and then the page will refresh because you are reconnected to the net and the new WPA2 settings.

 

If you do it from ethernet hardwired, then that is all a moot point, because you are hardwired and will remain connected, so your actiontec will refresh properly.

 

 

Contributor rbj52403
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
Message 6 of 11
(11,062 Views)

I'm not sure if anyone is still monitoring this feed, but I just upgraded yesterday from 35/35 (getting 45/35 wireless) to 75/35, still getting the same wireless speeds via speedtest.net. I have a Rev I Actiontec router and a wireless card on my laptop capable of 150Mbps. I've seen the other comments regarding the other Rev, but can anyone tell me what I should be capable of getting with my configuration? Can I perform similar changes to to my router to up the speed? I've already tried the CS rouute, couldn't understand them, then was disconnected. Frustrating!!! Thanks in advance!

Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
Message 7 of 11
(11,051 Views)

Sure, you should change to WPA2/AES on the router at your earliest convenience.  And you should do it wired, not wireless since once you make the change all your wireless stuff with stop working.  Then go into each wireless device and reset them to WPA2.

 

As stated, V doesn't guarantee nor sell wireless speeds. That's up to you.

 

Personally, I think V would have been better off not providing a router with wireless capabilities in the first place.  They should have been like cable and provided a device with just a single Ethernet port. Much less hassle for them.

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 8 of 11
(11,044 Views)

Also download www.inssider.com   It tells you which of your neighbors are on what Wireless channel.  Then use the basic wireless security settings to adjust yours to a less crowded channel.

 

The WPA2 is a biggy if it's on TKIP.   TKIP won't do much more than you have now,  but AES allows full N capability.  Also WMM should be left ON.

 

Also make sure your router is situated properly.  

 

That means it should be elevated, antenna's facing upwards, not in a cabinet, but instead out in the open, no obstructions (especially metal cabinets) and not near any wireless interferers like cordless phones, baby monitors blutooth devices cfl lightbulbs etc....

 

Also make sure you go out and download the latest and greatest wireless drivers for your laptop or device.

 

 

Contributor rbj52403
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
Message 9 of 11
(10,907 Views)

Thanks for the quick feedback! I'll make these changes when I have the chance and let you know how I make out. FYI - I'm using my wireless in the same room as the router, its about 6 feet away so I wouldn't expect that to be any part of the issue. Thanks again!

Copper Contributor urbanmusher
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
Message 10 of 11
(10,557 Views)

Just got off the phone with Verizon Tech Support.  Basically they said you get speed 75/35 coming into the router but then if you are using a wireless router(that they supply) it isn't capable of delivering those speeds.  So I asked to be reverted back to what I had prior to my $20/month increase to Quantum and lo and behold that plan is no longer available.  So my bill increased $240/year for something I get no benefit from. 

 

My question is when I called to order Quantum, why isn't their 1st question to me "are you using a wireless router?"  I smell SCAM.  I'm not happy about this but I guess it is just a case of "let the buyer beware".

 

Shame on you Verizon!!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.