×

Switch Account

Remove inactive devices from router

Remove inactive devices from router

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2017

Remove inactive devices from router

Message 1 of 15
(30,811 Views)

Hi.  how do I remove old/inactive devices from my router?  There is no delete option.

14 REPLIES 14
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,825
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 2 of 15
(30,778 Views)

Reboot router.

But why does it matter?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 3 of 15
(30,697 Views)

I agree that we should be able to remove device from 'Advanced > IP Address Distribution > Connection List,' but devices expire after a period of time, so it's unnecessary. I guess it would be necessary if there was a connection issue between the router and the device. I don't know why it's not available on the Gateway router.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-30-2012

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 4 of 15
(30,383 Views)

Advance > IP Address Distribution > Connection List > Edit the device you want to remove and select Static Lease Type.

Once you apply this, the following screen should return with an X for that device... just delete it et voila!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2018

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 5 of 15
(29,651 Views)

Where is this advance button to remove devices because I can't seem to find it and there are a lot of devices connected that I am not familiar with and wish to remove them

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,404
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 6 of 15
(29,631 Views)

Please provide more information so someone can help you.
DO NOT INCLUDE PRIVATE ACCOUNT INFORMATION

Equipment Model No. ?
Router

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 7 of 15
(22,466 Views)

Thank you... this worked up to the Connections box, but it only shows ACTIVE devices.  I want to remove INACTIVE devices.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-01-2019

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 8 of 15
(20,204 Views)

Why does removinmg old devices matter?  Besides cluttering up the screen with devices from the routers' prior owners...well that's the only reason that matters. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-01-2019

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 9 of 15
(20,200 Views)

Nope.  All that list shows is active DCHP devices.  Devices that once were connected but no longer are (tossed, broken, sold) remain. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Remove inactive devices from router

Message 10 of 15
(20,154 Views)

Oh by the way they do automatically go away in the router list on reset.

devices not used are not impacting a router. On Verizon Quantum Gateway Router it does not actually go away unless the router is set back to factory.

 

again having devices that previously were connected in the routers list is not affecting anything. If a customer purchases a better router like a Netgear or TP Link or Asus the devices don’t show after they are removed. As with my Nighthawk 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.