Replace Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I with Linksys WRT1900AC?
Dougseek
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello, and thank you in advance for any and all help.

Recently, the internet has been a little slow in the household for things like gaming and media streaming, things that seem to put a lot of strain on the old actiontec that Verizon supplied us with. I have decided I wanted to upgrade to the new generation of AC routers. After reading some things online I have decided to go with the Linksys WRT1900AC.

I'm not an expert on networking, by any means, and was wondering how I might go about doing this. I assume I would need to replace the actiontec with a modem to plug into my new router? Or could I use the actiontec as a modem? Also, could I expect a lot of improvement in speed for things like XBOX 360, XBOX ONE, iPhones, etc?

Thanks again, I really appreciate your time.

-Doug

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Replace Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I with Linksys WRT1900AC?
eljefe2
Master - Level 1

Ok.  Here's what I would suggest.

Get an ECB2500B adapter and a good quality coax splitter.  The ECB2500B is a plug-and-play device. No setup necessary.

Use the ECB2500B Ethernet port to feed your WRT-1900AC in the basement.  When doing so, connect the Ethernet port out of the ECB2500B to the WAN port on the Linksys router.

I'm not specifically familiar with the setup for the WRT-1900AC, but you'll need to assign it a static IP, different than your Actiontec's 192.168.1.1,  and you should configure it as an AP (access point), or at least turn off its DHCP server.  That will allow your Actiontec to assign IP addresses to all devices on your network.

Once that's up and running, you might connect your Xbox's to one of the Ethernet ports on the WRT-1900AC via hardwire.  Whenever I can, I favor hardwire over wifi.