×

Switch Account

Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-09-2009

Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 1 of 6
(13,701 Views)

I have the UltraLine Series3 Model 9100EM router for FIOS, 25/15. I'm running one physical connection to it, and have 3 wireless clients.

 

Every couple weeks now, the router magically decides to revert back to factory defaults, and can happen at any time of the day, at any traffic. The SSID, security, and network list all vanish. The physical connections are still fine though.

 

The only settings I change are the SSID, WPA2, and MAC. Nothing fancy in the advanced sections. Once the router reverts back, all 3 wireless clients cannot connect anymore, and people from the outside immediately start mooching. This is not good.

 

So I have to re-enter everything one every couple weeks, and it's getting a bit frustrating for my business. Is there a firmware update available? Is this a known issue?

 

Any suggestions are welcome.

 

Thanks! - hazmatt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,002
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 4 of 6
(13,617 Views)

 


@hazmatt wrote:

I already have the latest firmware.  I re-flahsed it anyway, no help.

 

Any other suggestions?


 

 

Yes.

 

#1 In the router go to Advanced -> UPnP.

 

#2 If that feature is turned on, turn that off.

 

#3 In the router, did you change the password of the router? I would believe this is in Advanced.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,002
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 2 of 6
(13,649 Views)

For the most up to date firmware

 

Go to http://www2.verizon.net/micro/fios_router_update/

 

Select the router

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-09-2009

Re: Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 3 of 6
(13,629 Views)

I already have the latest firmware.  I re-flahsed it anyway, no help.

 

Any other suggestions?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,002
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 4 of 6
(13,618 Views)

 


@hazmatt wrote:

I already have the latest firmware.  I re-flahsed it anyway, no help.

 

Any other suggestions?


 

 

Yes.

 

#1 In the router go to Advanced -> UPnP.

 

#2 If that feature is turned on, turn that off.

 

#3 In the router, did you change the password of the router? I would believe this is in Advanced.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-18-2009

Re: Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 5 of 6
(13,579 Views)

It is a bad router according to me. Call tech support to get it replaced.

No way it should reset to default on its own.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-09-2009

Re: Router Keeps Reverting To Factory Defaults

Message 6 of 6
(13,496 Views)

I reset back to defaults, re-entered my router access login, unchecked UPnP, changed the SSID, re-entered by WPA2 and MAC settings.

 

It's been 48 hours so far, no issues so far.

 

If this happens again, what would be the next thing to try? Would this happen if someone is hacking it and forcing it to reset? My business organizes privacy-sensitive information.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.