Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Router acting strange

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-30-2010

Router acting strange

Message 1 of 12
(1,548 Views)

I seem to be having a problem of intermittent loss of connectivity at night up to the early mornings.  When I run tracert to any outside site it stops entirely on my side so I figure this is a persistent router issue.  It gets resolved after I reboot or power cycle the router.  This has been going on for about a week and it has never happened before in my 2 years with the service.  Any ideas on how to troubleshoot this further?  Sometimes it gets bad enough that I cannot log into the router at all, telling me my login session is already maxed out to 5 connections.  Very strange.

 

MI424WR-GEN2

Version F

 

11 REPLIES 11
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Router acting strange

Message 2 of 12
(1,543 Views)

Do all connections drop when this happens, or just one machine.  Maybe instead of rebooting the router, you should reboot the PC first, and see if that reforms the connection.  

 

Also is it wired or wireless?  if it's wireless, then it could be a wireless interference issue.

 

Worse case scenario before you exchange it at a store, is to Reset your Actiontec MI424WR router to the factory defaults

 

You can also try to reset the BBU which resets your whole houses connection (phone internet and tv)

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-28-2010

Re: Router acting strange

Message 3 of 12
(1,487 Views)

I am having a similar problem,

After two  years of no problems, rebooting the router

has become a daily (sometimes twice) event.

I wonder if I need a new router?

Do we make the determination to return it or does Verizon?

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-01-2012

Re: Router acting strange

Message 4 of 12
(1,457 Views)

I had the same problem and I think I've finally fixed it.  If you're using PPPoE and not DHCP, my solution might help.  http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Intermittent-FIOS-Connection/td-p/454717

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-30-2010

Re: Router acting strange

Message 5 of 12
(1,416 Views)

Finally have time to troubleshoot this further.  It has become a daily event this week. 

 

The router basically becomes unreachable and I have had to power cycle to get it working again.  I still have the same WAN IP address for the past month or so.  My router is set to DHCP with PPPoE disabled.  When I check it says the firmware is up to date.

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-14-2012

Re: Router acting strange

Message 6 of 12
(1,374 Views)

We experience the same problem. Our internet service was reliable then in the past month or so connections would drop and we need to reboot the router to resolve. We probably reboot 4-5 times a day. 

 

Router firmware is up to date. We use DHCP. Would love hints on what else to do. It seems like something has changed. I'm the only one who manages our router and I don't think I've made any changes. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-30-2010

Re: Router acting strange

Message 7 of 12
(1,349 Views)

Yes, it seems very strange.  I have tried restoring to defaults and even forced the latest firmware update to install again, heck I even tried to enable PPoE 2 but it could not connect.  Just a few minutes ago, it happened again.

 

I think I'm going to try to get the router replaced but I find it disturbing that other folks are running into the same issue.  I hope you all have better luck and find a good solution.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Router acting strange

Message 8 of 12
(1,298 Views)

So I've had FiOs for 2+ years now, and these last 2 months have been hell with my internet. For no reason, many times while I'm currently using the internet, the router just stops getting an internet signal, and I have to reboot/powercycle it. I'm doing this like 5 times a day now, and it's just unacceptable. 

 

 

Once in a while the reboot won't work and I have to call support to 'reset' the box from their end and then it works fine. This call takes 30+ minutes between the robot command prompts, being put on hold, getting walked through the same steps everytime, etc. 

 

 

For 2 years I never had a single blip of service problems. Before last month I don't even know the last time I rebooted our router. Our service has been excellent aside from these months of June/July. 

 

 

Now I've talked to several different tech people at Verizon...some of them say the wiring in my house has to be replaced (no, my house is less than 10 years old and the internet works excellent when it works). Some said maybe I have too many splitters (no, I've even connected the box to the very first coax line in our house with 0 splits and this still is happening). Some say I have too many boxes (5 STB's, 1 DVR, 1 Digital Adapter - never a single problem with any of them).

 

 

I've had a VZ tech come out here 3 weeks ago, he tested all the connection from the white box, from the coax line, and from the street - they all checked out fine. The problem is not with me. I can't be rebooting or powercycling my internet 5x a day. I can't be calling VZ support all the time to do a reset. There has to be an underlying issue here - and I don't think it is with me.

 

 

What's the deal Verizon?

 

 

- Bill

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Router acting strange

Message 9 of 12
(1,290 Views)

maybe it's just the router,  did they replace that while they were out there?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-30-2010

Re: Router acting strange

Message 10 of 12
(1,257 Views)

I just got a new router and it just happened again as I type.  This router is up and running less than 48 hours.  Trace routes are google.com, ms.com simply won't complete.

 

Either there is some kind of outage is going on or there is something else messing with the router.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.