×

Switch Account

Router reboots by itself

Router reboots by itself

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 1 of 6
(740 Views)

My Gateway G1100 reboots by itself for no known reason. I purchased the router from Verizon about two years ago.  This has started recently.  Oddly, usually the wireless devices reconnect on their own, but the wired ones do not.  I have 100/100 service via COAX plus TV and landline. I have 34 devices connected, but not all at once.  I also have the FIOS network extender (WCB6200).  I have had to reboot the ONT at times to get devices to reconnect.  I have had to disconnect and reconnect the wired devices.  The router has the latest firmware 02.02.00.16.  Any ideas/help would be appreciated. 

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
MVP Edg1 MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,481
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 2 of 6
(723 Views)

Sounds like the router might be starting to go bad. It could also possibly be related to a firmware update. Another thing I would check is device that are hardwired. Unplug your devices to see if one of them are causing it. As a last resort I would give it a hard reset for 15 seconds to see if that helps. 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 3 of 6
(717 Views)

Could my inexpensive UPS that the Gateway connects to be causing a problem?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,864
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 4 of 6
(712 Views)

That is doubtful that an APC causes the burps.

if you search this forum and others via google it is the Quantum Gateway Router G1100 that is at fault. Some of the postings have stated verizon pushed out firmware updates that messed up the router. Then the new firmware was pushed out to fix the screwups from the last firmware update.

 

personally i would get rid of it and look into buying a Netgear or asus etc. for your internet. http://www.dslreports.com has a fios forum that can give you better information.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 5 of 6
(704 Views)

I understand that I need to keep the gateway for the TV, and that I can use a different router for my wired and WiFi connections.  However, I have an extender upstairs (WCB6200q) with coax in and Ethernet and WiFi out.  Can I still have that extending my Internet with a non-Verizon router for my DHCP connections?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,864
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 6 of 6
(665 Views)

@GaryPSU wrote:

I understand that I need to keep the gateway for the TV, and that I can use a different router for my wired and WiFi connections.  However, I have an extender upstairs (WCB6200q) with coax in and Ethernet and WiFi out.  Can I still have that extending my Internet with a non-Verizon router for my DHCP connections?


You can use a better router with a MOCA adapter to get your tv. The only exception is the new fios one boxes that only work with verizons routers. But the website i gave you is the best place for instructions on how to set up a better network.

 

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzfiber

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.