Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

SOLVED
Reply
semitech
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 1 of 8
(8,100 Views)

I currently have Fios 20/5 internet and TV. I would like to add a second router in my living room hopefully using the Coax cable that is run into my living room STB.

I would like this router to be 802.11n, hopefully increasing speed and coverage.

My questions are

Is this set up even possible or advisable?

Can I just split the living room Coax using a NIM, then run Ethernet cable into an 802.11n router and then Coax to the STB?

Would buying a second Actiontec router be better instead of 802.11n?

Thanks for any insight you can provide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 3 of 8
(8,048 Views)

semitech wrote:

Is this set up even possible or advisable?


Yes, absolutely possible.

Can I get an ethernet connection in a room with only coax?

 


semitech wrote:

Can I just split the living room Coax using a NIM, then run Ethernet cable into an 802.11n router and then Coax to the STB?


No.  The TV out connection on a NIM-100 does not pass MOCA and can not be used to feed a STB.  Use a splitter instead.

 


semitech wrote:

Would buying a second Actiontec router be better instead of 802.11n?


 

You can buy the 802.11n Actiontec from VZ for $79.

https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayDetails

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
weedeater
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 2 of 8
(8,072 Views)

You would need a MoCa adapter and a splitter.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 3 of 8
(8,049 Views)

semitech wrote:

Is this set up even possible or advisable?


Yes, absolutely possible.

Can I get an ethernet connection in a room with only coax?

 


semitech wrote:

Can I just split the living room Coax using a NIM, then run Ethernet cable into an 802.11n router and then Coax to the STB?


No.  The TV out connection on a NIM-100 does not pass MOCA and can not be used to feed a STB.  Use a splitter instead.

 


semitech wrote:

Would buying a second Actiontec router be better instead of 802.11n?


 

You can buy the 802.11n Actiontec from VZ for $79.

https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayDetails

View solution in original post

semitech
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 4 of 8
(8,027 Views)

So I need a 1 gig splitter, a Moca adapter and the second router. I see an Actiontec ECB 2500c and 2200. Is either acceptable? I've seen posts saying a dual band router has some benefits, could you recommend one that might "play nice" with the Fios Actiontec that I have now. ? Thanks for the links.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 5 of 8
(7,981 Views)

The primary difference between the ECB2500 and the 2200 is that the 2500 is MOCA 1.1, which means you can support 16 devices on your MOCA network instead of 7 (if all your devices are MOCA 1.1).

 

Yes, there is an advantage to a dual-band router if your devices support it.

Go to http://smallnetbuilder.com to checkout various dual-band routers.

 

Any router or access point will "play nice" with the Actiontec.  Just be sure to put the new router/WAP on a different wirteless channel to prevent the two routers from interfering with each other.

 

If I were doing this, I would go with the rev. I Actiontec.  While it may be single band, it is the same price as the Actiontec ECB2500 and it provides a MOCA bridge, 4 port switch and wireless access point all in one device.  Less clutter.

 

semitech
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 6 of 8
(7,949 Views)
So if I'm understanding you if I go with the Actiontec N router I won't need an ECB 2200 or 2500, I would be able to just run the coax into it from the splitter?

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 7 of 8
(7,932 Views)

@semitech wrote:
So if I'm understanding you if I go with the Actiontec N router I won't need an ECB 2200 or 2500, I would be able to just run the coax into it from the splitter?


Correct.  Be sure to follow the instructions in part 2 of the following FAQ to set it up correctly.

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios/3.2_MOCA#15984

 

 

semitech
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Second Router or Wireless Access Point?

Message 8 of 8
(7,857 Views)

Great thanks, you have definitely pointed me in the right direction

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title