×

Switch Account

Setting up Verizon Fios on new computer

Setting up Verizon Fios on new computer

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 14
(17,993 Views)

I am in the process of shopping for a new desktop computer.  I have Verizon FIOS Triple Freedom package (FIOS internet, TV, and landline phone service).  Once I get my new computer set up how do I transfer my FIOS service/software to my new computer so my Internet and FIOS TV works properly ?

13 REPLIES 13
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
Message 2 of 14
(17,960 Views)

You don't need to setup anything extra on a new computer, your internet and TV will still work fine. If you want you can install some of the tools that technician probably installed on your computer when your FiOS was orignially set up.

 

You can download the In-Home Agent troubleshooting tool here:

http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/HighSpeed/Email/Troubleshooting/QuestionsOne/85637.htm

 

And if you have/use media manager for FiOS TV, you can download that here:

http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/FiOSTV/Guide/Enhanced%20TV/QuestionsOne/126554.htm

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 3 of 14
(17,958 Views)

What Verizon service and software are you referring to? There is absolutely no need to have ANY Verizon software on a PC for it to connect tothe internet and for your TV service to work.

 

I have FiOS TV, internet, and phone also. Last Oct. when I bought a new laptop to replace my desktop, all I did was unplug the ethernet cable from the desktop and plug it into the laptop. I was instantly able to conntect to the internet, no Verizon software, period. And of course my TV was totally unaffected.

 

If you want to connect wirelessly, then you will need to supply the encryption key to the PC the first time you try to connect. Your key is usually on the back of the router.

 

Now, Verizon does have some trash that they call software that you can download and install (but not use!). I have done that for a couple of their progrmas, found them totally useless, and removed them from my PC (well, that is not completely true, some of their software is just about impossible to remove once installed, but I have really, really tried).

 

So I will ask again, what software and service are you worried about?

 

I think a bigger issue you need to think about is how to get all of your stuff - pictures, documents, email settings, etc, over to the new computer. It isn't particularly hard, but you do need to sit down and think about it. By the way, I assume you will be getting a PC with Windows 7 on it, just be aware that there is no email client included with it. If you are an Outlook Express user for email, that program will not run on Windows 7. But in the Programs list you will find Windows Live, and from there you can download the Windows Live Mail client, which looks and works somewhat like Outlook Express.

 

Good luck, migrating to a new PC is really not hard, if you have issues be sure to ask, I am sure someone here will be able to help you.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 4 of 14
(17,829 Views)

IF you're referring to all the V icon's that were on your desktop after the install like home and mail etc.....

 

then you can activate a new pc by going to http://activatemyfios.verizon.net

 

you'll see the following. 1004iF8B6135BB3817844

 

 

If you put the radial cursor on "configure additional PC"   then it should go through and reinstall any software the technician may have installed.

 

Also you will want to go to

http://www.verizon.com/connect to download the In home agent as well.

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 5 of 14
(12,438 Views)

my computer crashed i have a new computer and need to reinstall fios

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 6 of 14
(12,420 Views)

Follow these instructions and let us know what happens

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,423
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 7 of 14
(12,380 Views)

There's nothing to set up, unless you use Verizon's Security Suite or Backup software. Just plug in the Ethernet Cable (preferred way) or connect to the Wireless using the information found on the bottom of the router, and off you go 🙂

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 8 of 14
(10,833 Views)

I NEED HELP SETTING UP A NEW PC WITH VERIZON INTERNET SERVICE

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,423
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 9 of 14
(10,829 Views)

@sunlover46 wrote:

I NEED HELP SETTING UP A NEW PC WITH VERIZON INTERNET SERVICE



New PCs simply need for you to connect the Ethernet cable to the PC, or to connect the PC wirelessly to the router using the information found on a sticker underneath the router. Nothing else is special. If this is DSL service, it's the same thing. If there is anything special you pay for such as VISS or the Backup service, you visit the Verizon website and re-install that software.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
Message 10 of 14
(10,826 Views)

Would you ask another person how to start your own car?

Computers doesn't need special software to connect to the internet like the old dial up days. Come on people!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.