Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Reply
AskingDemiHelp
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 1 of 10
(9,565 Views)

I want to install a cisco Linksys RVL200 4-Port SSL/IPsec VPN Router behind the Actiontec router. I want to be able to access my home network from outside the home.

 

My current configuration is

Coax to Actiontec : IP 192.168.1.1

Lan to WAN on Cisco : IP 192.168.20.1

2 Cisco gigabit switches that have all the computer IP's 192.168.20.XXX

 

I have 2 computers 3 security cams and 2 laptops at the home office (I understand i will probably need to connect a seperate wireless router? i do not need the wireless computers connected to VPN)

 

here is the link to the router

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/routers/ps9923/ps9927/data_sheet_c78-502734.html

 

Has anyone successfully installed this?

 

DO i use the DMZ or Port forwarding? or should i overide the Actiontec and create a bidge (i do also have FIOS TV which i understand will lose the program and On Demand)

 

Thank you in advance.

9 REPLIES 9
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 2 of 10
(9,547 Views)

 


@AskingDemiHelp wrote:

I want to install a cisco Linksys RVL200 4-Port SSL/IPsec VPN Router behind the Actiontec router. I want to be able to access my home network from outside the home.

 

My current configuration is

Coax to Actiontec : IP 192.168.1.1

Lan to WAN on Cisco : IP 192.168.20.1

2 Cisco gigabit switches that have all the computer IP's 192.168.20.XXX

 

I have 2 computers 3 security cams and 2 laptops at the home office (I understand i will probably need to connect a seperate wireless router? i do not need the wireless computers connected to VPN)

 

here is the link to the router

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/routers/ps9923/ps9927/data_sheet_c78-502734.html

 

Has anyone successfully installed this?

 

DO i use the DMZ or Port forwarding? or should i overide the Actiontec and create a bidge (i do also have FIOS TV which i understand will lose the program and On Demand)

 

Thank you in advance.


 

That looks like a working config, just make sure to put the VPN in the DMZ, and you should be good to go 

AskingDemiHelp
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 3 of 10
(9,501 Views)
Where is the DMZ on the action tech router. Do I enter the 192.168.20.1 or the wan address that was setup from the VPN router automatically which is 192.168.1.10. Also anything else I need to take care of? Like the ssl port nof the cisco router? Thank you so much iadvance.
Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 4 of 10
(9,477 Views)

@AskingDemiHelp wrote:
Where is the DMZ on the action tech router.

Not sure if you're asking where to enter it or which IP to enter.

 

To specify the DMZ address, click on the Firewall Settings icon at the top.  Select DMZ from the left menu.

 

The address you enter is the Actiontec LAN side address of the Cisco (192.168.1.10).  The actiontec doesn't know about the 192.168.20.x subnet behind the Cisco.

 

 

 

 

 

AskingDemiHelp
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 5 of 10
(9,404 Views)

Thank you i have been able to connect to the VPN. Now the problem is that the computers behind the VPN cannot access the web at all.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 6 of 10
(9,385 Views)

@AskingDemiHelp wrote:

Now the problem is that the computers behind the VPN cannot access the web at all.


Is the WAN side of the RVL200 set for a static IP address or to obtain a DHCP address from the Actionec.

Since you mentioned 192.168.1.10, I assume it's static.

 

In the RVL200 WAN settings:

  • Static IP should be selected in the pulldown.
  • WAN IP address should be 192.168.1.10
  • Subnet mask should be 255.255.255.0
  • Default Gateway should be 192.168.1.1
  • For DNS server, you can specify the Actiontec (192.168.1.1), or specify your DNS server addresses.

If the RVL200 WAN IP is static, the RVL200 won't obtain DNS addresses or default gateway address automatically from the Actiontec.

 

 

 

AskingDemiHelp
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 7 of 10
(9,374 Views)

thank you, unfortunately this is the exact setting i had. The strange thing is that if I ping the 192.168.1.1 (actiontech) from the Cisco, it finds the ip. it also find the IP 192.168.1.10 (WAN IP) 

 

If I ping the from the Actiontech to 192.168.1.10 it doesnt find anything nor does it find 192.168.20.1. However if i type in the url the 192.178.1.10 it finds the page and loads the login for the cisco ssl

 

I have set the DMZ on the actiontech to 192.168.1.10

it also shows up in the ARP Table.

 

Do i need to forward any port to 192.168.20.1 (VPN IP)?

 

Current Setting on Actiontech is:

DMZ 192.168.1.10

its doesnt appear as a connected device (STRANGE) but shows up on the ARP table.

 

The VPN works... but the computers behind the VPN have no access.

 

 

Please help before the router and computer end up outside the window 🙂

 

AskingDemiHelp
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 8 of 10
(9,361 Views)

One More thing. When i searched the DHCP on the Actiontech, the VPN ip didnt even show up. When I manually added it the IP 192.1681.10 show as expired.

 

Do i even need it under the DHCP or can i delete it?

 

Thank you for all your help.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 9 of 10
(9,327 Views)

@AskingDemiHelp wrote:

If I ping the from the Actiontech to 192.168.1.10 it doesn't find anything nor does it find 192.168.20.1.  


The Actiontec should be able to ping to 192.168.1.10 as long as the Cisco is set to respond to ICMP requests on it's WAN port.

Since it is not, you need to figure out why you can't ping the Cisco.

 

The Actiontec won't be able to ping 192.168.20.1 since it does not know how to reach that address.  You would have to add a static route (dest=192.168.20.*, GW=192.168.1.10) in the Actiontec


@AskingDemiHelp wrote:
I have set the DMZ on the actiontech to 192.168.1.10  it also shows up in the ARP Table.

Do i need to forward any port to 192.168.20.1 (VPN IP)?

Current Setting on Actiontech is:  DMZ 192.168.1.10

its doesnt appear as a connected device (STRANGE) but shows up on the ARP table. 


 The DMZ setting in the Actiontec is correct as 192.168.1.10.

192.168.1.10 should indeed be in the ARP table.

 

You can't port forward to a subnet (192.168.20) that the Actiontec doesn't know about as I explained above.

Since the Cisco is in the DMZ, you "shouldn't" need to do port forwarding for inbound connections to 192.168.20.x devices.

If you do find you need to do port forwarding, the destination address in the Actiontec should be 192.168.1.10.  The Cisco will in turn need to port forward to the 192.168.20 device.

 

Since the Cisco has a static IP address (192.168.1.10), it won't show up as active in the Actiontec's DHCP list since the Actiontec never issued a DHCP lease to that address.  "expired" simply means the Actiontec is aware of traffic from that address, but does not have an active DHCP lease for that address.

 

 

AskingDemiHelp
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Setup Linksys Cisco VPN RVL200 router behind Actiontec MI424WR router

Message 10 of 10
(9,317 Views)

Thank you. Still no luck. Could there be anything wrong with my Cisco? It was working and once i firmgrade updated nothing worked.

 

If i need to port forward, what is the exact commant. forward 192.168.1.10 to what?

 

also from Cisco site what do i forward to 192.168.20.1 or the actual computer 192.168.20.101 (to what?)

 

Thanks again. This is my last try.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title