Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Reply
jonahlee
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-20-2009

Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 1 of 21
(3,731 Views)

I have 25MB up and down FIOS in the Greater Los Angeles area, and for a long time I had screaming fast internet and Speedtest.com showed it right around 25MB up and down and you could tell. In the last month I have noticed a significant slowdown to my internet and it is really frustrating me, and worse it shows up in the speed tests from SpeedTest.net, though Verizon's speed test actually shows me faster than I am paying for.

 

Speedtest currently shows: a ping of 14ms, a download of 8.17Mbps and an upload of 7.77Mbps

 

Verizon's broadband speedtest shows a download of 30.361 Mbps and an upload of 25.906 Mbps

 

There is no way I am as high as Verizon is saying, as my connection is noticeablly slower than it was just 2 months ago.

 

I am on a Mac running OSX 10.6.7 with 24GB of RAM on a wired internet connection, so it is not the Wifi that is slowing me down.

 

And how can Verizon show that much more speed than speedtest? That doesn't even make sense, unless they are lying about my speed based on my connection or are throtling my connection for anything besides their connections.

 

Anyone have any ideas.

20 REPLIES 20
jonahlee
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-20-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 2 of 21
(3,727 Views)

I have already tried unplugging the 9100EM modem to try and reset it, and have tried to loging, but it seems the default user name and password have been changed (though not by me) as I can't login to the modem.

 

The speed stayed the same slow.

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 3 of 21
(3,725 Views)

Try testing at www.speedtest.net and make SURE you are on the LA server. 

 

the sd server is slow, and don't even talk to me about the SF server.

 

The LA server is very beefy, and should give you results that are close to Verizon's. 

 

Also keep in mind that Verizon's Speed Test site keeps traffic on the Verizon network, so it may isolate non-Verizon network conditions from your results.

jonahlee
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-20-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 4 of 21
(3,723 Views)

Yes I am on the LA server.

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 5 of 21
(3,720 Views)

Ok,  Run a traceroute to yahoo.com and then copy and paste the resuts here. 

 

  1. Open the command prompt: 

    • Windows 7 or Vista: From the Start menu, in the search field, type cmd , and then press Enter.
    • Previous versions: From the Start menu, select Run... . In the "Open:" box, type cmd (98 and before used the full word 'command') , and then press Enter.
  2. At the command prompt, enter tracert yahoo.com

How to Use the Traceroute Command

jonahlee
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-20-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 6 of 21
(3,690 Views)

Here is a traceroute to Yahoo.com:

 

Traceroute has started…

traceroute: Warning: yahoo.com has multiple addresses; using 209.191.122.70
traceroute to yahoo.com (209.191.122.70), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  0.666 ms  0.433 ms  0.421 ms
 2  l100.lsanca-vfttp-112.verizon-gni.net (98.119.9.1)  6.314 ms  7.926 ms  4.991 ms
 3  g11-0-0-1912.lsanca-lcr-09.verizon-gni.net (130.81.138.66)  5.462 ms  5.545 ms  9.754 ms
 4  so-4-0-0-0.lax01-bb-rtr1.verizon-gni.net (130.81.28.72)  17.933 ms  11.694 ms  24.927 ms
 5  so-7-3-0-0.sjc01-bb-rtr1.verizon-gni.net (130.81.19.83)  15.088 ms  33.567 ms  17.155 ms
 6  so-6-0-0-0.sjc7-peer-rtr2.verizon-gni.net (130.81.17.133)  19.311 ms  15.291 ms  19.921 ms
 7  130.81.14.86 (130.81.14.86)  14.356 ms  14.307 ms  14.339 ms
 8  as-0.pat1.da3.yahoo.com (216.115.100.67)  52.656 ms
    ae-4.pat1.dnx.yahoo.com (216.115.101.148)  43.540 ms  44.199 ms
 9  ae-2-d120.msr1.mud.yahoo.com (216.115.104.89)  55.657 ms
    as-3.pat1.da3.yahoo.com (216.115.96.38)  58.416 ms
    ae-2-d120.msr1.mud.yahoo.com (216.115.104.89)  79.144 ms
10  te-6-2.fab2-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com (209.191.78.153)  54.936 ms
    ae-2-d130.msr2.mud.yahoo.com (216.115.104.93)  55.551 ms
    te-6-2.fab2-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com (209.191.78.153)  54.044 ms
11  te-9-2.fab1-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com (209.191.78.151)  56.534 ms
    te-8-1.bas-c2.mud.yahoo.com (68.142.193.7)  56.360 ms
    te-6-1.fab2-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com (209.191.78.137)  57.076 ms
12  * te-8-1.bas-c2.mud.yahoo.com (68.142.193.7)  60.292 ms *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *
31  * * *
32  * * *
33  * * *
34  * * *
35  * * *
36  * * *
37  * * *
38  * * *
39  * * *
40  * * *
41  * * *
42  * * *
43  * * *
44  * * *
45  * * *
46  * * *
47  * * *
48  * * *
49  * * *
50  * * *
51  * * *
52  * * *
53  * * *
54  * * *
55  * * *
56  * * *
57  * * *
58  * * *
59  * * *
60  * * *
61  * * *
62  * * *
63  * * *
64  * * *

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 7 of 21
(3,680 Views)

hm, I am in Long Beach and not having that issue - I can tell you the VZ site is accurate and not fabricated info, the only thing it does differently is it keeps all information on VZ routers to and from the test center, and that helps to isolate trouble on their network vs off their network.  if a problem is off their network, they can't really fix that.  If it's on their network then they are obligated to fixing it.  

 

your traceroute doesn't look bad, but to be fair it's incomplete info.  So of the hops that we can see they look fine until we hit hop 13 and beyond.   and as you can see, you're hops are controlled by yahoo after hop 7.  

 

Try rebooting the ONT (main network terminal) and see if that clears it up.   If not, then you may have to play a waiting game until yahoo clears whatever problem they are potentially having.   

 

The trick here is that a timed out response is not a good or bad thing, its a ? question mark or an unknown.  It's possible to have a perfectly working router, and it not respond to trace or ping or ICMP echo requests.   so because we have a time out - that doesn't give a firm answer that you're having trouble.  

 

Rebooting the ONT has been helpful for others, so give it a try. 
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 8 of 21
(3,675 Views)

use this to log into the VZ router

 

I can't login to the VZ router

jonahlee
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-20-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 9 of 21
(3,664 Views)

If Verizon's speed test is accurate, why do I get such different results from SpeedTest.net and why does my connection seem so much slower than it used to be when SpeedTest showed the connection so much faster?

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Significant Fios slowdown, shown on Speedtest, but not from Verizon

Message 10 of 21
(3,662 Views)

do an actual download, and see how accurate it is.  download ages of empire or something and see how close you get to your speed or not.  And then test it against a few different downloads from vary'ing sources. 

 

those speedtest.net servers are hosted by mom and pop shops and there are few if any tier 1 ISP's hosting any of those hops.  

 

 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.