Time Server Blocked / Double NATed Problems
VividLizard

I'm new to networking (at least at this level) and need some guidance. First, I have an Actiontec MI424WR (Rev. F) Coax Verizon Fios modem that I use as my home networking wireless router.  From a LAN port on that I've connected a cable to the WAN port on my DIR-655 which acts as my gigabit office hardwire/wireless router.  I need to keep the home network and the office network separate.

All of my computers are Windows, either 7, Vista or XP.

Connected to my Dir-655 on the office network are 2 wireless computers, a printer, an IOMEGA 1TB Home Personal Cloud NAS HDD, plus 2 desktop computers.

The DIR-655 is set with a static IP address matching the range of the Actiontec. The DIR-655 is set for DHCP for the devices on the network (although 2 of the computers have static IP address).

Now the fun stuff:

When the DIR-655 had a Dynamic IP address set by the Actiontec, the IOMEGA NAS HDD kept losing connection with all the devices on the network. Only after I set the DIR-655 to static IP did that stop and everybody started to play nice. I'm not sure why that would make a difference, but it did.

But regardless of whether it is set to dynamic or static, no computer on the network or program, even third party programs, can connect to ANY of the time servers out there... and I mean any of them. I've tried at least 20 or more of the standard and not so standard ones.  The DIR-655's time is off, and it is set to get time automatically.  None of my computers, or my IOMEGA NAS, can access time.  The Actiontec, though, seems to be set correctly.

Everything connects to the internet just fine. Web, email, auto product upgrades. Fine. So far it's just the time server thing which is driving me nuts.

I done everything I know how to do to enable Port Forwarding through both routers for NTP > UDP 123 since that is the standard port for the Network Time Protocol, but I could have easily screwed that up.