×

Switch Account

Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 1 of 7
(3,442 Views)

I'm haveing issues with the net.. it seems to be beyond my ability to fix it. i can pull up the pages.. but anything that requires info other than the page it hangs.

 

Screenshot_3.jpg

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 2 of 7
(3,423 Views)
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>tracert www.google.com

Tracing route to www.google.com [74.125.229.145]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
  2     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  L100.TAMPFL-VFTTP-150.verizon-gni.net [71.100.13
3.1]
  3     9 ms     6 ms     8 ms  G101-0-0-34.TAMPFL-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [100.4
1.221.124]
  4    11 ms     9 ms     9 ms  130.81.199.26
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6    35 ms    37 ms    37 ms  0.ae9.GW1.MIA19.ALTER.NET [140.222.231.81]
  7    43 ms    42 ms    41 ms  google-gw.customer.alter.net [63.65.188.38]
  8    36 ms    37 ms    36 ms  209.85.253.116
  9    42 ms    42 ms    41 ms  72.14.233.233
 10    45 ms    44 ms    44 ms  mia07s24-in-f17.1e100.net [74.125.229.145]

Trace complete.

C:\Windows\system32>

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 3 of 7
(3,407 Views)

is this beyond my control?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 4 of 7
(3,390 Views)

That Tracert looks normal.  The fact that one or more hops time out only means that particular server is set not to respond to ping requests.  As long as the latency to hops past the timed out hop are satisfactory, all is well.

 

More details might help a fellow user here come up with some ideas:

 

What operating system are you using?  Win 7, 8, etc?

 

What browser?

 

Have you tried a different browser?

 

What anti-virus / firewall are you running?

 

Do you have the problem with other web sites, or just Google?

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 5 of 7
(3,366 Views)

when i use a speed test website it has 100% packet lose.

 

 

What operating system are you using?  Win 7, 8, etc?

 

win 7

 

What browser?

 

firefox but tracert was run in cmd window

 

Have you tried a different browser?

 

yes

 

What anti-virus / firewall are you running?

 

yes, microsoft security esscentials. and i have disabled it and tried with same results as well

 

Do you have the problem with other web sites, or just Google?

 

all report packet lose

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 6 of 7
(3,352 Views)

When you have 100% packet loss, then you're fully offline or fully unable to connect with whatever website or server.

 

Are you fully unable to get to them?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Tracert and pings go thru but with *** 11/4/2014

Message 7 of 7
(3,348 Views)

What SPEEDTEST SITE are you having 100% packet loss to?  Some require funny things to be done to run correctly.

 

So far nothing you posted is showing a problem.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.