Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Reply
harveyb1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 1 of 8
(1,302 Views)

I am having a problem refistering for Verizon Wi-fi.  When I enter a user name (harveyb100), I get a message that states "user name contrains 1 or more invalid characters"  I have used different combinations of letters and numbers and keep getting the same message.

7 REPLIES 7
ocean25
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎08-07-2010

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 2 of 8
(1,238 Views)

@harveyb1 wrote:

I am having a problem refistering for Verizon Wi-fi.  When I enter a user name (harveyb100), I get a message that states "user name contrains 1 or more invalid characters"  I have used different combinations of letters and numbers and keep getting the same message.


   Try the Verizon In-Home agent.  Smiley Wink

 

   Good luck!

harveyb1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 3 of 8
(1,227 Views)

Thanks for your help, but I could not any place in the in home agent to register Verizon wi-fi.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 4 of 8
(1,195 Views)

It is of course not part of In Home Agent.

 

Not sure what is wrong with your id which seems to pass the rules listed.

  • Contain 6-30 characters
  • Should start with a letter
  • Can only have letters, numbers, two periods (.) or underscores (_), and one hyphen (-)
  • Not end with a special character
  • Not have consecutive special characters

 

 

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,586
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 5 of 8
(1,181 Views)

Are you registering from a device or program that auto-corrects or auto-completes what you type in? A lot of programs tend to insert blank spaces at the end of a name. Perhaps the registration page is complaining about that if it's not sanitizing the input. The other that comes into mind if you're registering from a web browser is the character set of the page, if it's not being set right. In most cases Auto Detect should do the job.

 

Just a thought.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 6 of 8
(1,176 Views)

Note just tried register with my florida idusing my desktop (current have NY id on my laptop).  Looks to be broken.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 7 of 8
(1,171 Views)

@Smith6612 wrote:

Are you registering from a device or program that auto-corrects or auto-completes what you type in? A lot of programs tend to insert blank spaces at the end of a name. Perhaps the registration page is complaining about that if it's not sanitizing the input. The other that comes into mind if you're registering from a web browser is the character set of the page, if it's not being set right. In most cases Auto Detect should do the job.

 

Just a thought.



YOu register from the verizon tool that downloads when you select the wifi product.  Note before clicking next to continue it is doing a validatation and giving you little verifcations against its rules (red and green indicators)  Still fails afterwards.  I am thinking it doesn't work with the latest IE which I think it uses under the cover.

harveyb1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Trouble registering for Verizon Wi-fi

Message 8 of 8
(1,166 Views)

Thanks for all of your replies.  I appreciate your time.  I was given a # by on line chat:  800-256-4646.  Hopefully, they can resolve.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title